New Job Opportunity & Yum!

TGIF!

Okay now time for the BIG announcement!

I am now teaching Zumba fitness classes 6 times per week. 🙂 A few weeks  ago I was contacted by a local Curves company who wants me to teach four Zumba in the Circuit classes per week. What is Zumba in the Circuit you ask? I shall tell you!

This past year Zumba partnered with Curves to create a workout incorporating resistance training with cardiovascular to create a more effective workout. Look how much fun it is!

Every time I teach a class I am amazed by just how much energy these women have. They are so INSPIRING! They make me want to work harder, to take care of my health now to make sure that I can live my life to its fullest capacity. What is one thing that inspires you?

Speaking of Zumba I have some HUGE NEWS! Last night my class had 51 people – that is the most that I have ever had. I am such a lucky girl! One thing though is that all of my work with Zumba is keeping me really busy. Choreographing new routines everyday and putting in a lot of time at the gym is so rewarding. However the downside is I am getting paid nearly nothing at all for teaching at my university. I don’t think that they understand just how much work I put in, or how much of my own money I put in. Hopefully things will change soon!

Onto the food front!

Usually these days I have just enough time to grab a piece of fruit in the morning before class and rush to the cafeteria for lunch. I have found that I can’t really eat dinner on most days since I get queasy if I teach dance classes on a full stomach. Then I find myself snacking here and there after class usually around 7 or 8 which is later to be eating than I would like. Do you eat before exercising? If so what do you eat? And if not why?

My lunches usually consist of a nice big salad, a side of steamed or sautéed veggies and then a piece of fruit. Today for lunch I had an extra special treat – naan!

Naan is a special type of indian flatbread which is popular in many middle eastern countries, and growing  in popularity here in the states too. I’m kind of obsessed with it! It’s so delicious and moist. I love how its a little different from pita bread which can sometimes be a bit dry.

Vegan Naan

Ingredients:

2/3 C warm water
1 tsp sugar
1 tsp active dry yeast
1 cup  whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup white flour
1 tsp salt
1 tbsp vegetable oil

Directions:

1. Put the sugar, yeast and water in a small bowl and mix until the yeast is dissolved. Let stand until it gets foamy, about 10 minutes. Put the flour in a big bowl. Make a well in the center and add the 1 tablespoon of oil, the salt and the yeast mixture. Mix thoroughly with your hands to form a dough. Add sprinkles of water if needed.

2. Turn the dough onto a floured surface and knead for 5 minutes, until dough is smooth. Return the dough to the bowl, cover with plastic wrap and let rise in a warm place for 1 1/2 hours. It should double in size.

3. When you are ready to bake the bread preheat the oven to 475°F. (If using a baking stone, preheat it in the oven when you turn it on).

4. Turn the dough onto a floured surface and knead for 2 minutes. Break off small balls and pat into rounds about 5 inches in diameter and 1/2 inch thick. Cover a baking sheet with tin foil and grease it well. Place 4 dough rounds on the tin foil and brush the surfaces with oil (slide into oven on the foil if using the baking stone). Bake for 3 minutes. Remove and turn breads over, brushing with more oil. Return to oven and bake 3 more minutes. Remove and brush with oil again. Return to oven again for an additional 1-2 minutes, being careful that they don’t burn. Wrap in tin foil until you are ready to serve. Repeat with remaining dough.

Viola! You have delicious vegan naan! 🙂 YUM!

 

How do I eat my naan? With a shmeer of hummus and a sprinkle of pepper! 🙂

Michal ♥

Question of the day – How are you planning on spending your weekend?

14 thoughts on “New Job Opportunity & Yum!

  1. congrats love!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Im so happy for you and I do hope you get paid soon, you do put alot of work into it ; )

    That vegan naan is genius!!! thanks for sharing!! xoxo

  2. Hello! ^^
    It seems to be the first time I come here hmmm *look around*
    Fierce lady, you! Congrats for being so awesome! 😀
    You can dance, teach and cook! Wish I were like you!
    Usually, before I exercise, I take a nice blend of banana+soymilk+oats+scant Tspoon of agave+some vanilla essence and a cereal bar. 🙂
    I totally LOVE flatbread! *steals your recipe* Later, I’ll post the results!
    And answering the last question: my fiancé’s birthday on sunday! Showing some of his omni relatives what a vegan girl can do in SCRUMPTIOUS concoctions! xD

  3. Congrats on the new job, I can tell that you’re loving it! Hopefully the pay will pick up a bit too. It’s great to do something you love, but not great to feel underpaid for the work you’re putting in.

    Thanks for sharing that recipe, I’m going to make up a batch either today or tomorrow. And that picture with the hummus on it?? Oh my gosh, divine looking!! YUMMY!! If you don’t mind my asking, do you have a favorite recipe for making your own hummus, or do you just go with store bought? I haven’t found one that I like yet, and I’m hesitant to keep wasting my precious garbanzo beans on recipe flops. :p

  4. Awesome new job! I am now working at my gym! And, filling in for classes sometimes. And, I am going to get certified for Les Mills Body Flow. Everything is coming together nicely. 🙂 It’s too bad that you don’t get paid well. I definitely think you should consider asking them about paying you better. After all, you are only a college student and you have school work to put time into as well. For all of the time and money you’ve put into teaching Zumba, you deserve some sort of reward, in addition to the zeal you get out of teaching it.

  5. OMG!!! We’ve bought Naan quite a few times! I absolutley love it! It’s 1000x times better than pitas XD I’m gonna have to try the pepper with hummus thing though, sounds good! ^^
    I’m thrilled to hear about your zumba teaching is going awesomely! And congrats on the job offer THATs exciting!
    I exercise after dinner. I’m not sure if it’s exactly the thing to do for weight loss or optimal results w.e, but it’s the only time of day I can do so, and it works for me. But I make sure I have a good half hour- an hour break before going at it. Throwing up shouldn’t be apart of the exercise routine 😛

  6. oh my gosh you made your own naan!! awesome!!… i rly want to try zumba when im older and can find classes- it looks right up my alley since i used to be a dancer and it was AMAZING!

  7. I wish I could come to your classes, Michal–it would be so much fun! But I am sorry to hear that you’re not being very well compensated, financially speaking. Let’s face it–making money is an important part of life–you deserve to be paid well! I hope you can work something out soon.

    It’s a tough thing being so busy you hardly have time to eat. I think we’ve all been there before. As for myself, as long as I only eat a small meal, I can usually handle the rigors of exercise without discomfort. My problem is that once I start eating, I don’t want to stop! So I usually just wait til later to have a meal when I can sit down, take my time, and eat as much as I’d like. But that usually means I’m eating a big meal later in the evening and that’s not great either… Oh dear–It seems I’m no help with this one! 🙂

    Can’t wait to read another post, my friend! Until then, ZUMBA FOREVER!

  8. Mmmm, I love naan. It makes me mad that they charge over 2.00 for one piece at the Indian restaurant when you’ve already paid for a plate. All plates should come with a free hot naan, if you ask me.

  9. LOVE your blog! I am a brand new Zumba instructor, too, and it is the best job I could ask for! I totally agree…it is so inspiring and rewarding to see all those ladies having fun and shakin it down! 🙂

Leave a Reply

