A day of first’s!

Happy December first!

(It’s snowing here! The first snow of the season!)

And happy post thanksgiving! I hope you all had a great day. πŸ™‚ Mine was filled with yummy food and family, which equals the perfect day. What was on the menu for me this year?

My meal was really simple this year for two reasons..

  • I was lacking inspiration
  • I was lacking motivation

While I LOVE getting my cook on in the kitchen, I was just so burnt out from school that I couldn’t even sum up enough enthusiasm to come up with something creative. Do you ever have moments like this? What do you do to break out of your funk? Anyhow I had a butternut squash and acorn bisque, mashed sweet potato’s and something new and super delicious..

Review Alert!

I was really excited to try the Gardein Chik’n Scallopini, and have been wanting to for a long time. Made by the Gardein Company who prides themselves on making delicious, vegan, and oh yes did I mention EXTRA DELICIOUS products that mock meats products, without all of the cholesterol,fat and added ingredients.

Yum-O!

Ingredients :Β water, soy protein, vital wheat gluten, ancient grains (quinoa, amaranth, millet and kamut), natural flavors (from plant sources), potato starch, expeller pressed canola oil and/or safflower oil, pea protein, modified vegetable gum, carrot fiber, organic beet root fiber, organic evaporated cane juice, yeast extract, sea salt. rub:Β spices, red bell pepper flakes.

And each breast only has 90 calories per piece!

The verdict? Would I buy this again?

Absolutely! These were fantastic, quick and they made my thanksgiving meal more complete for sure. The texture and taste were spot on and you can do so much more with them than just simply cook them. You could add them to dishes and other recipes to make them stand out even more.

After my thanksgiving meal I went home and relaxed with Earth Mama and watched Eat, Pray, Love. Which I have been dying to see forever! After reading the book two summers ago I was eager to see the movie. Have you ever seen/read Eat, Pray, Love?

Totally good! I would give it two thumbs up for sure. πŸ™‚

Now I’m back at school and getting ready to go into final exams, and then Christmas is going to be here! Ahhhh! So exciting! I am getting a little anxious about exams though since I don’t really know what to expect. But there is 16 more days left until I am home for the holidays, and when I get home I am for sure going to get my bake on in the kitchen!

Off to to class! Catch ya tomorrow!

Michal β™₯

Question of the day – What was on your thanksgiving menu?

7 thoughts on “A day of first’s!

  1. Weird, mom and I watched Eat.Pray.Love this weekend as well! I loved it, but my mom – well, she hated it… Then again, she loathes (that should be in all caps) Julia Roberts! haha… Something about her doesn’t sit well with mi madre. Any who, all hate aside, I enjoyed it and kind of want to watch it again – which is weird for me, as I’m more of a ‘hit it and quit it’ kind of gal when it comes to movies πŸ˜‰

  2. “Do you ever have moments like this?”

    My life is made of moments like that. If I’m in eat-out or take-out mode, I’m not cooking, no matter how many delicious and expensive veg and fruits are rotting in the fridge. If I’m in cooking mode, I’m washing, slicing, chopping and cooking no matter how late it is or how tired I am. I can’t break either streak, but it’s always one or the other, for two to six weeks at a time. Hmmm.

    Did you like the movie “Eat Pray Love”? I adored the book. Haven’t seen the movie yet.

  3. Hi Michal! Yes, Thanksgiving was really nice, and delicious too!

    I haven’t read the book or seen the movie EatPrayLove. Sometimes I feel soooooo behind the times! Eeesh! But hey, I have been enjoying Toy Story 3! My husband and I watch it all the time lately! Silly huh? πŸ™‚

    My Jordan has been doing most all of the cooking as of late. (I’ve felt rather unmotivated.) And he’s been in a baking sort of mood to top it all off, specifically for Banana Bread! I’ve been enjoying his culinary skills immensely! I’m starting to worry a little bit about my waistline! At least I have Zumba to temper the temptations! πŸ™‚

    By the way, Gardein IS yummy, isn’t it?! πŸ™‚

  4. Hi girl!
    Yeah, it happens sometimes. I just let time pass, then it usually goes away πŸ™‚ I hope to see you baking/cooking!

    OMG I wanted to try that mock meat, but I haven’t because I’ve never seen a review of it; thanks! Now I should πŸ™‚

    I had Amy’s vegan mac n cheese, and at the thanksgiving feast, I had steamed veggies and salad πŸ™‚

    Good luck on your finals! Mine is all next week!

  5. I’ve seen the movie, and read the book. Love both πŸ˜€
    oh and yeah, I have moments like that, and usually, I just make something quick and simple, or ask my bf to make me something. After that, I’m quickly motivated to cook something yummy πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

