Hello College!

Oh my gosh, hi!

It has been over two weeks since I have blogged, but I am happy to report that I am now a freshman in college and I love it! I am having so much fun, getting to live in a dorm constantly surrounded by other girls is like having a slumber party all the time (which for an only child like me is a blast!). 🙂

 I am constantly surprised by the food here. They always have something for me to eat including cucumber spring rolls, portobello mushroom steaks and Tofurkey. The only thing that I have found tricky so far to navigate is bread, which all of theirs contains eggs. I am going to ask is perhaps they can start carrying an egg free version.

Okayyyy now before I talk about anything else, lets backtrack and show you what happened on move in day.

Mirror shot! Up on my lofted bed (yes im really nervous ill fall out!)

Making the bed.

My mom and I found this cute little place two block away called Andrea’s Garden, and they have tons of amazing vegan options for me including a delicious Tempeh Reuben which I have yet to sample. Earth Mama and I decided to stop for a quick bite after we finished moving in.

We started with drinks…

Soy iced chai latte for Earth Mama.

A yummy carrot-apple juice cocktail for me!

 

MMM! You gotta love a traditional humus veggie wrap.

Complete with sprouts and a sweet garlic dipping sauce.

Earth Mama had the Groovey Grilled Cheese! What a fun name! 🙂

For dessert Earth Mama and I split a Oatmeal Raisin Cookie with Walnuts from the Alternative Baking Company.

Review Alert!

While I’m not one to eat sweets all the time, since it was a special occasion I decided to splurge a little. After all every diet needs a little wiggle room. 🙂

This cookie was oh so soft and moist, and chewy. The perfect oatmeal cookie. I might be a little partial since oatmeal raisin cookies are my favorite, but this was exceptional. The Alternative Baking Company makes many wonderful varieties of cookies ranging from Espresso Chocolate Chip to Pumpkin Spice. All of their products are vegan, and they use no refined sugar. SCORE!

They also..

  • Have gluten-free cookies.
  • Use organic fruit juices to sweeten
  • Use organic barley flour
  • NO trans fats  or hydrogenated oils


Oooh baby look at those raisins. Yum!

The verdict? Would I eat one again? YES PLEASE! This was so yummy, this tastes just like the ones that my grandma used to make, only better. I definitely recommend trying them if you get the chance.

Have you ever tried any cookies from the Alternative Baking Company? Whats your favorite flavor?

My Zumba certification is in 8 DAYS! OMG! I cannot believe that it is coming up so fast.

Okay that’s all from me for now, I have to go and get ready for my four hour shift working at the fitness center.

I promise that I will be more diligent with blogging, I miss all of you so much. What am I missing? Give me the skinny with whats going on with you.

Michal

Question of the day – What is new with you in your life? Have you started school again? New job? New haircut? Let me know 🙂

12 thoughts on “Hello College!

  1. I know just what you mean about college feeling like a slumber party or summer camp. It took me a month or so to think otherwise!

    Aren’t those ABC cookies amazing!? I’ve tried almost all the flavors and peanut butter and chocolate chips cookie is my favorite. Try them heated up in the microwave!

  2. Hey! I have a new blog now: http://kitkatkateblog.wordpress.com

    🙂
    Come check it out sometime!

    I am also loving college – all of the freedom! It sounds like your cafeteria is really accommodating to your needs. Our dining hall is great too! A whole veg room! Complete salad bar, sandwich/deli bar, pizza, grill, homestyle foods, and a special “Red Hot Chef” section where he makes things like stir fries, spring rolls, and other fancy things. The only bad part is that it’s all you can eat. You swipe your card and stay in there and eat whatever you can, whatever you want. To portion myself I sometimes use one of the designated to go boxes that you can sign up for. I go in, fill it up (once!), and then leave. I can eat outside or back in my room. It’s a nice change, and especially good if you have tons of work or are busy with other things around lunch time and have to multi-task! 🙂

  3. Michal!! I’m so glad that college is going well! Can I just say how jealous I am right now? Seriously, I want to go to uni! I’m dying here. This is going to be my second year off after graduating highschool and it is driving me crazy.. never thought I would say that I can’t wait for school. *sigh* Just one more year.

    Nothing much has been new with me.. same old, same old.

  4. Hi Michal! It’s great that you’re having such a good time at college. As a senior in highschool, I’m thinking about majoring in nutrition in college as well. I’d love to hear more about your experience, especially what it’s like to be a vegan studying nutrition.

  5. Cute pic of you in the mirror!!

    My sister decided to take the basic training Zumba class too! Although I am not getting certified, (not yet anyway) I am excited for her and for you!!

    And slumber parties are the SOOOO fun! I kind of feel like I get to have a slumber party every night too, because I married my best friend, husband-Jordan! 🙂 Is that weird? Oh well, that’s how I feel! He is a sweetie and I love him!

    Well, today was a terrible day, but reading your post was a happy ray of sunshine for me. Thanks for being you, Michal! 🙂

  6. Yay for moving in! I’m glad you’re having fun and enjoying vegan options in your dining hall- sounds great!! I’m back in NYC as well, just started school last week and I’m already swamped with work. Such is life. Hope you have a great week love!! xoxo

  7. I’m ALWAYS terrified I’m going to fall out of bunkbeds!
    And I’ve been vegan for almost a year, yet I’ve never had a veggie/hummus wrap. Embarassing…
    But you know what? I’ve got alpalpha and Cucumber in the fridge, so thanks for the dinner inspirations 😉

    Question of the Day:
    I just restarted/revamped my terribly underneglected blog for the fifth time, but this time I’m sticking with it 🙂
    Kudos for you for keeping up with a blog, it gets hard after a while!

  8. You’re such a natural as a college girl! You’re gonna have such an amazing time!

    What’s up in my life? Hmmm, well on Sunday I had a baby…..hahahaha! No, really, I’m not joking I did. So that’s about ALL going on right now!

Leave a Reply

