Can I get a Whoop Whoop?

Peanut Butter Whoopie Pies that is.

On sunday I finally had a day off from work, so what did I do? I practically ran straight into the kitchen and decided to do a little tinkering, experimenting with a recipe that I found in an old cooking magazine. πŸ™‚ I made some changes of course. Subbing soy milk, earth balance and ener-g egg replacer for their animal product counter parts. Plus I decided to whip up a different filling, doing a more decadent peanut butter filling.

What is a whoopie pie you ask?

I have always wondered about the origin myself, so a quick google search gave me this..

“A whoopie pie, sometimes alternatively called a gob, is a baked good traditional to the Pennsylvania Dutch culture as well as New England, made of two small, chocolate, disk-shaped cakes with a sweet, creamy frosting sandwiched between them.

The Amish mothers would, so the story goes, leave the homemade treats in their children’s lunch bag, and upon discovering them, the children would shout, “Whoopieee!” in delight.”

Whoop-Whoop Whoopie Pies

  • 1 cup soy milk
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 1/3 cup flour
  • 2/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup sugar

To make the cookie…

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and line two large baking sheets with parchment paper (not wax I totally did that and made lots of smoke, whoops!) In a small bowl whisk together the soy milk and apple ciderΒ  vinegar and let sit for a minute or two until slightly thickened.
  2. In a medium size bowl sift together your flower, cocoa powder, salt, baking soda and baking powder. Set aside.
  3. In a large bowl using an electric mixer beat the earth balance and sugar and mixed together and fluffy. Meanwhile mix the ener-g egg replacer in a small cup with 3 tbsp hot water and let sit. Add your soymilk to the mixture, then your ener-g egg mixture and blend until well combined. In batches add your dry ingredients, until everything is mixed together and forms a nice batter.
  4. Using a ice cream scooper or a measuring cup (to make uniform cookies!) scoop out the batter onto a parchment paper lined cookie sheet. Bake for 9-11 minutes, or until the cakes are springy when hit gently with a spoon back.

The filling…

  • 2/3 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup earth balance
  • 3/4 (plus more for extra fluffiness) powdered sugar

How to make the filling…

  1. Beat together your earth balance and your peanut butter until smooth and creamy. In small batches add your powdered sugar and beat until all mixed in until fluffy.

Assemble your whoopie pies by placing one cookie right side up on a flat surface, spread heaping globs of icing inside and smooshing it together between another cookie. Bite and enjoy. YUM!

Can I get a whoop whoop?

Enjoy!

I was told that the cakes are the perfect consistency, and so moist and chewy. Hurrah! I was so happy with how these turned out since it was my first time making these, and then I altered a recipe I found and pretty much winged the frosting recipe. By gosh I can cook!

Tomorrow is going to be such a fun day! I get to go shopping up at a mall an hour or two away. Were getting free $100 gift cards to spend at Express, and then once we spend $100 we get $25 back. So its like getting $200 worth of stuff for only 75 BUCKS! Now thats my kind of shopping spree πŸ™‚ Ill share the goodies when I get home!

Michal β™₯

Question of the day – Have you ever had a whoopie pie? Do you like them?

19 thoughts on “Can I get a Whoop Whoop?

  1. Whoop whoop!! That looks awesome! I want to try some! (you’re a wonderful cook!! Impressive, I have to say!) πŸ˜‰
    I’ve never tried it before!! 😦

  2. I love your take on whoopie pies! They were actually one of the first recipes my mom and I tried to healthify. I’m sure my step dad would love these (he’s a PB&chocolate lover) so they might appear in my kitchen very soon.

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  3. Those look SO delicious! The little bit about the Amish kids made me smile. πŸ™‚ Have fun at Express!!! (I’m a litttttle jealous.)

    πŸ˜€

  4. whoop whoop! I could go for one of those right about now πŸ™‚ they look like perfection. I’ve never made them before but have always wanted to. Have fun shopping!

  5. I’m having trouble staying on this page right now because I cannot stand to look at those whoopie pies and not have one! I am too hot to bake right now but man, those look good. I have had them from bakeries before. The bakery in my hometown calls them “Suzy Q’s”….weird.

    Chocolate+peanut butter=you can never go wrong. πŸ™‚

  6. Cute story with the Amish origins of the whoopie pie — love it! Although I have to admit I’ve never had one before. Still, yours looks absolutely scrumptious! πŸ™‚

    xo Aletheia

Leave a Reply

