The Bread Chef

Why yes im a little night owl tonight, thank you very much! ๐Ÿ™‚

And thank you all so much for all of your compliments on my graduation.

I was so happy that I was able to share it with you all. I still can’t believe that I finally did it, and I can now call myself a college freshman! Hehe! I have been enjoying my summer and just working like a busy bee. Plus I have been doing MAJOR dorm shopping and I am happy to say that I almost have gotten all of my stuff. Pics to come.

Alrighty so the other day my good friend Sarah and I were doing some shopping and we decided to stop and check out this little vegan to-go restaurant called Ely’s to Go which is located inside the little bakery called The Bread Chef.

The really cool thing about Ely’s to Go is that since they are such a small (yet strong and popular) business is that they have a changing menu everyday, which they share with their clientele through daily emails which I have been receivingย  forever. On the particular day that they went we had so much to pick from…

Our smorgasbord of food.

We were lucky to try a little bit of everything thanks to a little sharing between friends. ๐Ÿ™‚

As my main meal I chose the Fresh House Salad.

Organic spring greens, watermelon, grape tomatoes, grapes, shredded carrots, edamame, zucchini, raisins, corn and a roasted garlic vinaigrette.

The vinaigrette was definitely the best part, and I loved the way how the combined it with the watermelon and the edamame. It make me think about why I don’t eat it more often.

Sweet Potato and Edamame salad.

Philly “Steak” Sandwich

This had to be the crowning jewel of the meal. Sarah chose this and I was experiencing an extreme case of sandwich envy. Good friends are kind enough to share though ๐Ÿ˜‰ and I was able to haveย  a couple bites.

It was on this warm and crusty italian bread, with roasted peppers and onions, and then of course the “steak.” I’m still wondering what kind of “steak” that they used. Anyone out there recognize it?

Delicious!

No meal would be complete without a few tasty morsels for dessert, right?

We both decided to get scones.

Cherry Almond Scone

Sarah chose to get the cherry almond scone, and it was scrumptious.

Lemon Blueberry Scone

I however opted to get the lemon blueberry scone, and it was amazing. The texture was just out of this world and I loved the tartness of the lemon with the sweetness of the blueberries.

Me mid meal. ๐Ÿ™‚

They bake loaves and loaves of fresh breads everyday varying from whole grain to crusty baguettes.

Did I mention that they hand make batches of granola too?

Now that’s a message that I can get behind.

Overall I really enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. It is such a great business that uses all local and organic produce and products and I will proudly support that with my dollars. Even though the meal was a little pricy I will definitely be going back once I get the chance to.

Thats all for me tonight I have got an early start at the gym in the morning, then right to work at the best job in the world, then back to the gym for a second lifting session. (Did I mention that I have been getting into that lately? :))

I cant wait to share pictures of my dorm finds!

Michal โ™ฅ

Question of the day – Where is your favorite place to dine out? Are you a local restaurant kind of person or a big chainer all the way?

19 thoughts on “The Bread Chef

  1. I’m a night howl, too :)! I usually post at 1am or 2am hehe. That salad looks so good! I’ll be driving to NYC from Michigan this summer so I love seeing all the yummy vegan cafes you go to. It’ll be so hard to choose which ones to stop at!

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  2. OMG the food looks amazing! The steak looks familiar (like the ones from Trader Joe’s), and all the bread looks yummy!

    I don’t eat out often, and if I do, it depends ๐Ÿ™‚

    Ooh dorm! What fun! Do you know who you’re going to dorm with?

  3. I can never find anywhere to eat out that caters to my allergies, but all the places you go look awesome ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hehe, if it wasn’t for my migraines I’d be up at all hours posting and commenting too.

    Belated congrats on your graduation ~ you should be so proud of yourself ๐Ÿ˜€

    xxx

  4. That meal looks delicious- I want to say that the steak is seitan? It looks like it could have been marinated in something. I love small vegan eateries, specifically Candle 79 in NYC- such a great place!! Can’t wait to see your dorm stuff, I went wild shopping for mine, it’s so fun! Have a great weekend love!! xoxo

  5. hehe does that say cranberry-less granola? too funny! oh u have such a great little eatery here! food for a lighter footprint, now that would make me stop and go inside for sure! im loving the BIG scones ๐Ÿ˜€

    such healthy fresh food. and big sandwiches too- yum!

  6. Cute! I went out for lunch with my mom yesterday to a place called King Davids. I had the vegetarian platter that came with falafel, hummus, babaganoush, tabouleh, a salad, and pita bread (yumm). Middle Eastern restaurants are always pretty vegan friendly. I’m definitely not a fan of chain restaurants, its much more fun to take the time to scope out great local places. As for favorites though, I totally second Candle 79 and the Candle Cafe in NYC <33

  7. I’ve never had a scone before. Those look wonderful. Local bakeries are the best. In fact, local everything is sooo much better. I ALMOST hate chain places with a few exceptions. I like the creations of local restaurants much more though, there’s so much more variety.

  8. Those scones look delicious! I love local places and try to avoid chains. Sometimes it just happens where we go to a chain, but it is always fun to find somewhere unique.
    Can’t wait to check out your dorm room! Gosh, I feel old. haha.

  9. i went dorm shopping too and OMG I CAN”T WAIT FOR COLLEGE!! haha

    I really wish I lived near that cute and delicious looking restaurant! I love the flavor combo of lemon & blueberry – yum!

  10. That restaurant looks so cute. I cannot believe how good your food looks too! I do not really have a favorite place to dine out, but I like finding small name restaurants. They are usually the ones with the best food ๐Ÿ™‚
    -Court

Leave a Reply

