Graduation Day

Hi Muffins 🙂

As of June 6, 2010 I became a high school graduate.

The ceremony was awful. It was windy, chilly and we had it outside and it rained. There were tornado warnings all morning! Then just for a moment as we were all receiving our diplomas the sun came out and just for a minute we were able to see the calm blue sky… before it started raining again.

While it did suck sitting there in the pouring rain it does make an entertaining story and it definitely makes it more memorable (as if it wasn’t memorable enough already!)

Me post rain. Check the messy hair and make-up less face. Love it.

After the ceremony I scooted home to freshen up and then Earth Mama and I met up with my best friend Sarah and her mom for lunch at Aladdin’s. (Twice in a week, I know I’m ambitious! ;))

As an appetizer we all shared the same Vegetarian Appetizer that I had last time. YUM!

This time I chose to get a salad – a Falafel Salad more specifically.

I had no idea though that it would come stuffed inside a warm toasty whole wheat pita shell.

Not only was it pretty, but it tasted phenomenal too!

Me and Sarah at Aladdin’s

Flash forward in time about a week and on Saturday June 12th we had my graduation party.

Earth Mama went all out to make sure that I had a gorgeous table.

She put together this massive photo collage of me which turned out beautiful.

Me next to my table 🙂 Wearing my new favorite little black dress.

Now onto the cupcakes!

I know you remember in me in my last post mentioning my crazy dreams of making eight dozen cupcakes and a possible cake. Well it all happened… kind of. There was no cake. But the eight dozen cupcakes were totally awesome and I had so much fun making them and frosting them all. (Sarah gave me a hand with the decorating!) We made all of these on Friday night before my party.

My totally awesome cupcake tree.

Cookie and cream cupcakes (like I made before for mothers day!)

Peanut butter cupcakes with chocolate frosting.

Why yes my cupcake liners do have little smiley graduation hats on them 🙂

(Not like you can really see them too well.)

Golden vanilla cupcakes with purple butter cream frosting and white M’s for Mount Union!

(Which is where im going to school this fall)

I had the most awesome graduation party ever. And everyone totally loved my cupcakes, after the party we only had less than a dozen or so left. One of the things many people were surprised to learn was that they were all vegan and “missing the good stuff.” Sure there were some snide remarks but even the skeptical people were eating their words once they tried one of my cupcakes. A few of the things I heard were…

“If they are this good without any animal products why would you need to make them with?”

That is a totally awesome question, and one that I have no idea too. That’s one thing I love about vegan baking. Not only are you making delicious treats which spread the love, but you are also spreading compassion and knowledge that a vegan lifestyle isn’t about deprivation.

It feels so strange now to be a high school graduate. All of my years of hard work finally paid off and now I have a teeny piece of paper that is some how so worth it. I cannot wait until I can begin the rest of my education! While I enjoy summer break like the rest of the kids my age, I love learning and I always get a little bored halfway through the summer. Although I have to admit that I am really enjoying the extra free time I am having. 🙂 I am actually able to read books I want to read, for FUN! My workouts are awesome (HIIT training anyone?) and I have begun getting a little bit more into lifting too. I have my two day orientation the 25th and the 26th of this month and im so ready to go and meet my fellow classmates because I AM A FRESHMAN IN COLLEGE NOW! Hehe!

Michal ♥

Question of the day – Do you remember your high school graduation?

And because I missed you all you get another…

What is the craziest amount of food you have ever made?

24 thoughts on “Graduation Day

  1. YAY!!! congratulations!!!!

    way to celebrate with a delicious over-stuffed pita hehe!!

    love ur cap and gown- bright vibrant colors! u look radiant and beauitful!! ❤

    the peanut butter cupcakes look the BEST! that being said i bet the cookies and cream ones tasted the best and the vanilla ones with purple frosting were the most savory 😛

    love them all. Great post- and HUGE CONGRATS AGAIN! missed ur posts 🙂

  2. CONGRATS on your graduation!! Those cupcakes look absolutely fantastic…I’m obsessed with how perfect the frosting is!! Vegan baked goods are definitely the best way to introduce people to vegan eating, who doesn’t love a cupcake, right? I remember my HS graduation so well…it’s such a great feeling to be DONE, isn’t it?! Hope you have a wonderful summer love!! xoxo

  3. congrats, michal!
    i can’t believe you got rained on though – no tent?! you’re right, though – definitely memorable 😛
    the cupcakes look great, and i love the table your mom put together.

  4. Oh I remember graduating high school and going to my college orientation. The start of my college of experience was undoubtedly one of the most exciting experiences of my life and I will never ever forget it. Enjoy it girl! And congratulations!

    P.S. Your cupcake display looks absolutely precious. (coming from a TRUE cupcake-lover 🙂

  5. Happy graduation!

    I definitely remember my high school graduation (2006). Your grad party food was definitely better than mine – I’m pretty ashamed of the food I had! I was definitely not vegan yet…

    I made a crazy amount of food for my college graduation party this year, and I did it all myself. I wanted to impress the pants off of everyone with how delicious vegan food is, and it totally worked.

  6. AWWW! YOU LOOK SO BEAUTIFULLLLLLLLLLLL! CONGRATS MICHAL!!!!!!!!!
    gorgeous photos and gorgeous cupcakes too!! makes me hungry!!!

    Cupcakes are soo much fun to make!! Someday I will try VEGAN style as well!!

    MANY HUGS TO YOUUUUUUUU

  7. Congratulations! Your treats look amazing! ^^ If all else fails for you, you could definitely open a bakery lol.
    My high school graduation is on the 29th! I’m actually pretty psyched!
    The craziest amount of food I’ve ever made… yeahh see I haven’t actually ever ‘made’ any food lol mamas always worried I’m gonna burn the house down xD It wasn’t until I went veg she allowed me to use the stove and oven lol. But I did one year… with the help and supervision of mama make some sugar cookies xD They were AMAZING! Not vegan but amazing non the less and everyone loved them although I don’t think I could have messed up.. haha!
    Can I just say in closing you are such an inspiration lol. I’m just like blown away by all your posts lol they are literally the highlight of my computer time haha wow I’m a dork xD But it’s true your definitely going to make such a change in the world for us veg*ns! xD

  8. First of all, CONGRATS on completing high school! I remember my own graduation all too well. I went to a private school that consisted of kindergarten, elementary, middle school, and high school. I entered in the 3rd grade, so I had big attachments to that school.

    Secondly, those falafels and cupcakes look phenomenal! Wish I had some right now!

  9. Michal, congratulations on graduating, and on choosing a college. You’re in for such a wonderful time!

    Answer to your question: My first vegan friend was someone who got my car running at 3am outside of a nightclub where I’d been DJ-ing that night. She saw me struggling, and knew some little thing to do to start the car right up. We became fast friends, and I learned all about veganism, the whys and hows, etc. I’d already been planning a party, and I decided to make it vegan. I had to borrow an industrial size vat to make a crazy amount of vegan spanish rice. I made it pilaf style, in the oven, adding more water occasionally. I put in quartered tomatoes, millions of garlic cloves, chunks of onion and carrot, whole serrano peppers, lots of spices. It took hours to finish. I added some green peas in the last few minutes. Then when I stirred and fluffed it, all the veggies fell apart and mixed in. It was perfect. I also made a mad amount of vegan cornpone to go with it.

  10. I’ve been traveling, so I’m just now catching up, but CONGRATS on officially graduating!! You look beautiful in your cap and gown!

  11. Congratulations!!! so exciting!! Sorry the weather didn’t cooperate, but there are many good things to come 🙂 mmm those cupcakes look fabulous, I want one! Enjoy your break time because once school starts it will be go, go, go like the energizer bunny but in a good way 🙂 yay! I do remember my graduation, it was a ton of fun and an amazing feeling. I think the most food I’ve made was for my college graduation, there was a ton of food!

  12. congrats sweetie!!! 😀 And yes, i remember clearly my high school graduation, it was awesome!

  13. Congratulations – all those cupcakes are quite a feat and look fantastic! 🙂 I remember graduating highschool… 8 years ago (OMG. that is not a real statement). I was excited and exhausted! 🙂 Enjoy your free time!

Leave a Reply

