Prom Part 3 : The Singing Bowl

Morning muffins!

I am so glad that the weekend is here! Anyone have any fun plans?

M’kay so in my third prom re-cap post (click for parts one and two!) is all about the food. You all know that I was super nervous about traveling, and anxious about what the food situation would be. I was well prepared though thanks to all of your suggestions when I posted my S.O.S. I made a little vegan travel pack. πŸ™‚ While I am confidant and well educated about my vegan lifestyle, sometimes I get embarrassed and my friends can be really annoying about it.

In particular this weekend I was “the vegan.” I was the bud of all jokes, and of course they made comments that I am no stranger to…

“If everyone went vegan, wouldn’t animals take over the world?”

“Wouldn’t cows explode if we didn’t milk them?”

“Dont plants have feelings too?”

“Where do you get your protein?”

I really don’t mind answering questions, I actually really really enjoy it. But sometimes I can just tell that they aren’t even listening to my answers, and just waiting for another opportunity to ask me a question trying to upset me.

Anyway, okay moving along. πŸ™‚

I visited one of my favorite websites Happy Cow, and searched for restaurants in the area that would be veg friendly and I was pleasantly surprise when I came upon this gem. The Singing Bowl! LOVE! For those of you who follow me on twitter know that I became obsessed with this place at a rapid rate, and I cannot wait until I can return!

On their menu they had tons of delicious things including BLT’s, club sandwich’s, tofurkey, soy ham and faux salami sandwiches. Plus an array of mouth watering soups such as Backyard BBQ Sweet Potato, and most have awesome names such as “Louisiana Heat” or “Big Trouble in Chinatown”.

In addition to all of this they have (vegan) sushi on Saturday nights, gluten-free Sunday lunches, and brunch! With tofu scrambles, stuffed french toast and more. And daily specials too including Cajun Cat Feesh, chili dawgs and tempeh kabobs. OMG i know right, its almost too delicious for words!

They had this neat chalkboard with all of their daily specials.

The most amazing chocolate peanut butter whoopie pies. Ever. β™₯

MMMM!

Build your own pita sandwich station.

On this whole wheat pita monster I had hummus, avocado, roasted red peppers, vegan mozzarella cheese, tomatoes and their chimichurri sauce. Amazing!

One of the things I really love about The Singing Bowl is that not only do they make delicious foods off of a menu that caters to both vegetarians, vegans and meat lovers alike but they are on a mission to make it known that vegan food is not rabbit food. And I totally dig this. Plus they have live bands and singers who preform weekly.

I am so happy that the weekend is here! Tonight my mom and I are going dress shopping for graduation, and then running a few other (secret) errands which I cant talk about much yet! πŸ˜‰ Suspense I know!

Michal β™₯

Question of the day – When you go out to eat, where do you like to go and what is your favorite thing?

Cool news, did you guys hear that Mike Tyson went vegan? Thats my boy! πŸ™‚


15 thoughts on “Prom Part 3 : The Singing Bowl

  1. I want to go there!!!! It sounds so good!!! The french toast caught my attention! Haha, I loveeeee french toast. πŸ™‚

    I am going dress shopping today too…I wish you luck in finding a prefect dress!

  2. I wish Utah had cool veg places like this! We have some Indian places and a local pizza place does a vegan pizza (which means no cheese), but that’s all I’ve found. I’m more of a flexitarian, but I don’t always want animal products when I go out.

  3. what a fun restaurant (& i love the name of it) and that sandwich looks far to good!

    that is so annoying about the nagging questions you receive haha but i mean at least you get to educate people on why being veg/vegan is an awesome lifestyle choice.

    mike tyson… ahh my friend was actually invited to a VIP party in Vegas with him last summer.. she attended.. how terrifying.

  4. What a neat cafe!

    My favorite thing to get used to be Mexican (the whole works!) but I haven’t splurged in a long time for it. Of course, I know I can still have Mexican and just choose healthier options – and just say no to the fried ice cream, eh?! LOL

    Healthy hugs,
    Michele

  5. That restaurant sounds absolutely amazing!! I’m lucky to have a ton of yummy vegan places in NYC πŸ™‚ My favorite is probably Candle 79- it’s a real “fine dining” experience, which is hard to find in vegan food!

  6. I totally hear you on the questions thing – sometimes I love answering questions, but sometimes I can tell it’s not so much out of interest, moreso out of poking fun out of what I chose to eat, you know? Or serious questions but not paying attention to the answers, like you said – then I have to answer them again the next day, and the next, and the next – from the same person!!
    Ah, well. It’s life I guess πŸ˜›
    The restaraunt looks amazing – glad you were able to enjoy a fun dining out experience. We don’t have any funky, cool restaraunts like that around here. A lot of places where the veg options are mediocre salads :
    And that is so awesome about Mike Tyson! Never would have thought that.

  7. peanut butter whoopies! girl oh no u just didnt!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE! and that freaking pita is fabulous! u topped with all the most delicious things. im really loving that place, thanks so much for posting pics. ur amazing as always! xoxo

  8. I have absolutely no words other than I need to go to that restaurant. It sounds sooo good! I’m glad you enjoyed it; hopefully the wonderful food made up for the constant annoying questions. Questions are fun when you can educate your peers, but not when they don’t actually intend on learning.

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  9. The Singing Bowl looks just wonderful. There isn’t anywhere I can go out to eat in my area sadly…it’s hard enough to find a vegan place, let alone one with gluten-free options or things which are IBS friendly.

    I’ve just been catching up with your adventures and I’m so happy that you had a great prom! I know I’m probably the millionth person to say this but you looked totally stunning in your dress and you have proved to yourself and everyone else that you have nothing to worry about in terms of wearing a bikini because you’re gorgeous, so there. I wish I had your confidence!

    Gah, it must be so frustrating to answer those stereotypical questions. You’d think that eventually people would be mature enough to just let it drop, or at the very least come up with something slightly newer/more original.

    Hope you’re having a lovely Sunday (I’ll be sending your bars off tomorrow!)

    ❀

    ~Jess~

  10. I so understand. Let me count the ways. Early in my veg days, I’d go through drive-thrus and ask for a hamburger without the meat. The voice in the drive-thru speaker would say, “you mean you just want cheese?” “No”, I’d reply, “I want the hamburger with the lettuce, tomatoes, pickles, onions, ketchup and mustard, just no meat, and a small order of fries”. The voice would say “okay, let me get the manager”. Then (new voice), “may I take your order”?

    Recently I paid 100.00 to attend a lunch where Maya Angelou was the speaker. The invitation said to call ahead about any special dietary needs. Six weeks in advance, I called the number and requested a vegetarian meal. At the luncheon, we were served a salad plate with a pile of chicken cubes, pile of chopped egg, pile of lettuce, pile of grilled veggies, pile of tomatoes, chopped avocado sprinkled over all. One of those plates was set down in front of me. All that stuff looked good, and I could have eaten around the chicken and egg, but I figured the chef at the Hyatt Regency would have met the challenge of a vegetarian request, and if my mushroom wellington was getting cold in the kitchen, I wanted it brought out, so I said to the waittress “I ordered a vegetarian plate”. “Oh”, she said, “do you just want a plate of lettuce?”

    The world hasn’t changed much since I stopped eating animal products many years ago.

  11. Couldn?t be written any better. Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this article to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

