Earth Day & Vegan Buffet

Happy Earth Day!

A cool rock painted on campus.

Yesterday was a day to celebrate. Yesterday was the forty year celebration of Earth Day! People all across the globe celebrated this day by holding recycling drives, planting trees and flowers or cleaning up a local park. While it is fantastic that people did so much yesterday, I think that everyday should be treated like earth day. Because after all we only get one Mother Earth, and we should take care of her and treat her right. Right? 🙂 Did you do anything to celebrate Earth Day?

As I mentioned in my last post, a local college was having an all you can eat vegan buffet in honor of Earth Day and I was so excited to go! It was catered by Ely’s to Go, which is a all vegan to go restaurant that has a fresh daily menu depending on what is local and what is in season. They make tons of tasty things including tempeh ruebens, BLT’s, pot pie’s and a bunch of yummy baked goodies including chocolate-cherry scones and dark cherry coconut struesel muffins.

WARNING YOU MAY DROOL : GRAB A NAPKIN.

Here is a link to the menu.

They had a really nice selection of things, including some raw options too which was unexpected! I unfortunately didn’t get to try everything because I  got there a bit after it started so I missed out on some of the soups. Oh well, I’m not complaining! I don’t think I could have eaten anymore anyway!

Field Roast Italian Sausage and Peppers. Whole Wheat Pasta and Tomato Sauce.

Field Roast’s Meatloaf and Macaroni and Cheese.

Salad bar! All of the salads were made using locally sourced greens. They had  Ely’s Sweet Potato, White Bean and Kale Salad, Quinoa Salad and their homemade ranch dressing.

Best part ever!

Parmesan Focaccia Bread. Love. 🙂

Plate numero uno. Just trying out a little bit of everything.

Mmm salad plate. Mixed greens, sweet potato, white bean and kale salad with their ranch dressing.

Plate numero dos. Sampling a little more. You can tell somethings were winners. Aka: Macaroni and Cheese and Parmesan Focaccia bread.

They had desserts too! (Of course!)

Vegan chocolate chip cookies.

Live Chunky Gorilla Ice Cream. Ohmygosh.

This has to be one of the most amazing things that I have eaten, ever. I was so delicious. I asked the head chef what it was made out of and he said bananas, cashews, raw cacao nibs and a sweetener of some sort. I would definitely love to try to recreate this at home.

I had so much fun! Over 300 people attended this event and they are planning on having another one next year. I cant wait!

Thank you all so much for your congratulations on my last post!

I still cant believe that it is all finally happening, I put my check in the mail today for my room deposit and it just made everything more real. I have 25 days left of my senior year! And after that the summer is mine. I can’t wait to start shopping for dorm stuff, I have a feeling that is going to be one of my favorite parts. 🙂

Thats all for me today, I’m off to school and then work in the afternoon.

TGIF!

Michal ♥

Question of the day -Did you do anything to celebrate Earth Day? Any fun plans for the weekend?

16 thoughts on “Earth Day & Vegan Buffet

  1. Wow – I wish my campus would sponsor something like that!! Looks amazing. They tried – but only one man showed up, and he was so unorganized. My mom went and said the burger she got was still frozen inside. (veggie bean burger) and not to get my hopes up – I could have made better!
    So – nothing special, but I agree – everyday should be earth day. I try my best to recycle everything possible, reuse lots of baggies if I dont use tupperware, reusable bags, conserve electricity – but there is still so much more I could do. i’m workin’ on it!!

  2. Oh my gosh, that looks like a DELICIOUS spread…what a perfect way to celebrate Earth Day!! I just tried vegan ice cream for the first time recently and fell in LOVE. Who knew non-dairy could taste so decadent?!

    Dorm room shopping = so fun. I loved picking everything out, it’s a blast!

    Hope you have a great weekend girl!!

  3. I didn’t really do anything out of the ordinary to celebrate Earth Day but I’m trying to make more of an effort to shut the tap off while brushing my teeth. Most of the time I’m good but I get lazy sometimes I just feel like letting it run.. which I’m trying really hard not to do anymore. 🙂

    That buffet looks awesome! It’s like a dream come true.

  4. Woah woah woah! Wish I could have been there for all those delicious eats. What a neat Earth Day celebration.

    PS Happy belated congrats on your college choice! 😀 Hope you have a nice summer and a blast starting school.

  5. MAY drool? I think my laptop is just about to short circuit because I’ve drooled over it so much! That’s such an amazing buffet.

    I didn’t do anything special for Earth Day but I agree with you that we should respect the planet regardless of the date. I am a recycling fiend, always use a canvas shopping bag and make short journies by bike or foot, and longer ones by train when I can. I’m terrible with water though: I get through so many plastic Evian bottles it’s ridiculous, but other water just tastes bleh to me. Oh well, hopefully it balances out 😉

    Hope you had a great week-end.

    ~Jess~
    P.S I didn't get your e-mail 😦 Could you possibly re-send it?

  6. That buffet looks great! And that mac and cheese looks super yum. I am wondering how it is made.

    I try to treat everyday as earth day like you had mentioned so nothing super special. Recycle and conserve!

  7. What a great post!! And how exciting that it is your senior year! Your foods look delicious 🙂 Especially the ice cream!!

  8. oh my gosh, that is drool worthy!!! Yum! I would have been all over that 🙂 Yay for new dorm stuff! you are going to have an absolute blast girl! Cherish every moment, have fun and study hard 🙂

Leave a Reply

