Spring has sprung!

TGIF!

It it unseasonably beautiful here in Ohio, I can’t believe that I have my window open and am wearing a tank top. It is a whopping sixty degrees and sunny here. Gorgeous!

I really want to thank all of you for your suggestions on the whole birthday dilemma dealing with BW3’s Tuesday night. I ended up going, and the only thing that was available for me was a pathetic side salad which was shreds of lettuce, with 2 tomato slices and an onion ring. I am lucky I came prepared I brought a little container of carrots, corn and peas with me. Oh and did I mention that I ate a snack before I left home? 😉 It’s a good thing that I did too because that thing that they called a salad was nothing compared to my huge-ass creations.

But on a brighter note, I went to a local italian restaurant with friend so we could celebrate her birthday one on one and I ended up being able to get really excellent service.

I was able to get a vegan pizza, topped with spinach, tomatoes, broccoli and lots of garlic. I will most definitely be going back to this restaurant just because they were so nice and willing to let me create my own pizza pie. This goes to show that not every eating out can be a challenge for vegans like BW3’s. It just takes a little creativity and persistent pestering.  One thing I learned is that meek or quite vegans suffer. You have to ask a lot of questions, or be willing to do a little research before heading out in order to make sure that you are well taken care of!

I picked up a new goodie at the store, xanthan gum! I have been dying to try this stuff forever.

What is xanthan gum you ask?

  • It derives its name from the strain of bacteria used during the fermentation process, so it’s totally natural.
  • It is made from a tiny microorganism called Xanthomonas campestris and is a natural carbohydrate.
  • It’s a great thickener for sauces, dressing, and smoothies.
  • Its gluten-free – so great for baking for those who have gluten intolerance.

I know it sounds a little scary, but this stuff is totally neat. Just make sure that you don’t use too much! I got the surprise of a wobbly blender and a way puffed up salad dressing after adding too much xanthan gum. I wasnt aware of how powerful it is. A little really does go a long way.

I have been doing a lot of experimenting with this stuff lately, and I just may have a new obsession. 😉 That’s coming tomorrow!

My blogging lately has been quite sporadic because of work and school. Next week is the end of the semester, and then I am entering my last semester in high school ever. People didn’t lie when they said that this year is going by fast. I’m looking forward to getting back into the bloggin’ groove and catching up on my google reader which is overflowing (can you say over 600!).

And thank you too all of you who shared recipes for my home ec cookbook! I want to make an all vegan cookbook so I could show everyone (especially my skeptical teacher) that being vegan can be healthy and delicious. I got some really amazing suggestions, and some awesome ideas! It was so interesting to hear some of your favorite dishes.

I am off to enjoy this sunshine, and to do some reading and house cleaning. Maybe a little baking too! I wish you guys lots of sunshine today, and if it is nice out enjoy it! Because I heard that a rain storm is supposed to be coming in this weekend too.

Michal ♥

Question of the day – Have you ever worked with xanthan gum? What is your favorite way to use it?

Ginger is the New Pink is having a decadent chocolate giveaway.

21 thoughts on “Spring has sprung!

  1. i haven’t had xantham gum yet but really want to try that out. I wonder if you can make something with that other than smoothie. Looking forward to read about your new creations with it.

  2. That’s a bummer about your meal at Buffalo Wild Wings. 😦 But, that Italian place sounds so accommodating and friendly!

    I know! This year is flying by! We have just over 50 days left of school. Next Friday is the end of the 3rd 9 weeks and then there is only 9 more to go! I am so anxious to be done…but it’s crazy!

    Don’t forget the email! I know you are busy, so no worries. I am in the same boat.

    Oh, and I notice that you and other bloggers mention Google Reader. Is that possible to use with Blogspot? I just use the blog feed that is on blogspot, but it is so confusing and takes forever when I get behind on reading. How do I get a Goog. reader?

    Have a nice weekend, Michal! 🙂

  3. I’m glad things worked out for you at the restaurant–good thing you were prepared. 🙂

    I want to try xanthan gum. Sounds fun!

    Enjoy that beautiful weather!!

  4. Veganizing pizza is one of my favorite ways to eat out – you get the crust and delicious toppings without all of the grease!

    I have yet to use that gum, but I really want to get my hands on some!

  5. XG, yes, a little goes a lonnnnnnnng way 🙂 I have ruined more food b/c of it. I think, oh, it’s not doing anything. And I add more. No! And nothing you can do will salvage the food.

    And why do restaurants think a nasty iceburg lettuce “salad” with old carrots is a veg/vegan meal? Seriously, would they eat it? Would they be satisfied? no. Which is why I dine in 99% of the time…I dont have the patience of $ on lame meals but i know, bdays are diff.

    Hang in there w/ school!

  6. I can relate with you 1000%- school, work, blog, friends ey-yie-yie! Xanthen gum is so much fun- I sue it in about 18385 recipes! Have a great weekend girl!

  7. Hey Michal!!!

    Best of luck with your LAST SEMESTER of high school?! Doesn’t that feel awesome to say/hear? Gosh, getting out of HS is so exciting. Life after is def. better, easier, more interesting, less dramatic, etc.

    Anywho! Xantham gum! Have always wanted to try! esp for making homemade smoothie/blender type ice cream- which I still haven’t done sadly. Can’t wait to see what you use it for!!!!!

    And that vegan pizza looks awesome!!! I think it all depends on the city, for how many options Vegans will have when eating out. I live in a metro, earth-loving, outdoorsy hippie city (yes I LOVE IT), so I think it makes things a lot easier…..

    speaking of which, so jealz of your warm Ohio weather!! I’m still wearing me fleece. 😦

    happy weekend m-daarrrling!

  8. I really want to try some xanthan gum, but the last time I went to the store to pick some up, they were all out! Boo. Maybe next time though.

    I’m really interested in what it does to smoothies; sometimes I feel like a smoothie, but really don’t want anything with a runny consistency. If it really does thicken it up a lot, I’ll be really happy!

  9. so glad your weather is nice! It’s been in the 60s here too and should be up in the mid-70s next week! I’ve never used xanthan gum, but have wanted to experiment with it in gluten-free breads. Keep sharing your experiments!

  10. I’ve been tempted to experiment with Xanthan gum and I’m aware that it lasts a long time, but I wish they would sell it in small packages so I can test it out and see if I like it – I don’t want to buy a huge bag off the bat!

Leave a Reply

