It’s crunch time!

Happy hump day!

Who else can’t believe that its march already? It seems like just yesterday it was new years and I was setting my new years goals. Three months later I am still making progress. I am continuing to read literature.

The past Skinny Bitch, the book that started it all.

The present – I am currently just finishing up Vegan Freak for the second time.

The future Becoming Vegan, looks like a promising read!

This week is just flying by so fast, I don’t know where its going. Between crazy amounts of school work and working at the cube I’m even having trouble fitting my workouts in. However I was able to make it to my zumba class tonight and do some ab work and I feel just glorious. 🙂 Hopefully things will die down again soon, my google reader is backing up and im feeling all out of the loop I miss you guys!

I’m glad you all enjoyed my review on Stonyfield’s O’Soy yogurts – who knew there was such controversy! Many are arguing that the yogurt is not vegan because the cultures are milk based. This is going to have to be a decision that you are going to have to make on your own if your vegan. If you are vegan do you feel comfortable consuming it? Why or why not?

One thing that does bug me sometimes is how animal products seem to find their way into everything. The other day I was going to buy some meatless crumbles and bingo – egg and casein. Why? Why even bother making veggie crumbles in the first place if you aren’t going to go all the way and make them vegan for everyone to enjoy. Okay rant over, moving on!

I made my second recipe (the first being peanut butter cups!) from Alicia Silverstones book The Kind Diet today for breakfast – Crocodile Crunch! It was delicious! I followed the recipe almost exactly, except I substituted agave for maple syrup, omitted the orange juice and replaced with soymilk, and used creamy almond butter. Topped with a little of my favorite granola and I was good to go! This was also my first time working with spirulina.

What is spirulina you ask?

Spirulina is a microscopic blue-green algae that contains high amounts of protein, and all nine of the essential amino acids. It also is high in vitamins and minerals such as potassium, iron, zinc, copper and also high in beta carotene.

  • It’s proven to strengthen the immune system
  • Promotes healthy digestion
  • Studies suggest it may reduce cancer risks.

It comes in tablets, gel and even a powder which is what Alicia’s recipe called for. Wow with all of those health benefits its no wonder spirulina is considered to be a super food. For further reading and information on spirulina go here.

Guess who made muffins? Me! 🙂 They don’t call me Earth Muffin for nothing after all (but if you have ever wondered why I call myself Earth Muffin click here!) These muffins are Apricot Walnut Ginger. YUM!

I have got a hot double date tonight with Mr.Spanish and a Mr.ScholarshipEssay. Unfortunately. Why couldnt my boyfriend come see me again?!

Michal ♥

Question of the day – What have you been reading lately?

Gabriela is having a strawberry giveaway!

ZestyCook is having a generous giveaway.

Did someone say a cookie giveaway?!

25 thoughts on “It’s crunch time!

  1. Ohhh, I didn’t realize that the cultures were milk-based – now I don’t think they’re vegan. Accidental traces of dairy is one thing, but actively using an animal byproduct is another.

    I’ve been meaning to start Food, Inc forever. Maybe this break I’ll finally get around to reading it!

  2. Honestly I had a similar issue with probably the same veggie crumbles which were my pre-vegan go to 😦 Also, “veggie parm” – NOT so veggie friendly!! Whats the point!

  3. I feel the same way about meatless products! They might as well make them totally plant based to please everyone. I actually read and really liked Skinny Bitch last year. I was laughing out loud the whole time! I’m currently reading Wicked since I love the play so much. I really want to get The Kind Diet! Alicia Silverstone is doing so many good things to promote good health!

  4. I want read Becoming Vegan! I’ve seen it before,; don’t forget to give us a review!

    This week HAS been pretty fast! (I don’t know how my soul’s still in one piece!)

    If the product has milk culture in it, I won’t eat it because IT’S NOT FU*KING VEGAN! Okay, I’m done with my rant 😀

    The crunch looks reallllllllllllllllll good! Where can you find spirulina and how much are they? I want to try some of that!!!

    (I guess we updated this at the same time, because the last time I checked, it wasn’t updated, but when I posted a new post just moments ago, yours was up!!! What a coincident!) Ha ha ha! I love when stuff like this happens!! 😀

    The muffin looks good too, muffin! 😀 Does it acutally taste like ginger?? If it does, it’s a no-go for me. (not a big fan of ginger here)

    I wish my boyfriend can come too!!! (And I totally talked about this on today’s post!!! WOW!!) I have to hang out with Chronical Chemistry and Cracking-uply hard Calculus!! (both girls, by the way. Lol. Both lady teachers!) Ooh, good luck surviving! Only two more weekdays and we’re out (again for the weekend! Woooooohooooo!!!)

  5. Funny you should mention Skinny Bitch (the book that started it all for me as well): I will be ranting about it soon on my page….You read me right, rant.

    Also I’ve been meaning to pick up some spirulina! I was introduced by the Rainbow Light protein powder that I used to rock on the daily.

  6. I agree with your rant, Michal. It’s soooo annoying when they throw animal products into perfectly good vegan food! Ugh…

    But anyway, on a happy note, I just got back from Zumba! It was great! As usual. 🙂 Oh and I found out the name of the song I was trying to tell you about with my silly da da daaa’s last week! Here’s the link:

    http://www.youtube.com/user/cofcdancr#p/a/u/0/K4w5Z8FdsVc

    Sorry it’s a weird link, but hopefully you can cut and paste it!

    And I want to thank you again for that miso happy soup inspiration! I have already made it a couple of times since that post of yours! It’s the best!

    But of course, you’re the best, Michal! Love ya! Talk to you soon! 😀

  7. Oh, those muffins look delicious, I just ran out of muffins (shocking, I know ;-)) and I will try your recipe next. Yum, yum.
    I’m currently reading Dan Brown’s The Lost Symbol and I’m enjoying it a lot.

  8. I agree– that was one thing I noticed when I was doing my month-long vegan challenge that I thought was so strange– how many vegetarian products like meat crumbles and veggie burgers weren’t vegan!

  9. I’m so excited that it’s March! We’ve been having some seriously warm weather here and I love how the days are getting longer 🙂 Not long until summer is finally here. Woo!

    Girllll those muffins… yum! I’m planning on doing some baking of my own today. I finally made my way through all my frozen muffins, and everyone knows fresh taste best 🙂 I’m thinking something with banana and chocolate.

    Right now I’m reading my way through the LOTR trilogy… it seems to be something I do once a year. I just love the story!

  10. Ugh, I hate when veggie burgers have egg in them! They actually taste better without, but are usually more expensive. I agree, if you’re going to make them vegetarian, might as well make them vegan!

    I just ordered The Kind Diet off of Amazon, and I can’t wait to get it so I can try recipes like the Crocodile Crunch! Looks delish 🙂

    Have a great day!

  11. Thanks for the spiralina lesson! Before Naked was Naked, it was called Fresh Samantha and my favorite drink was called “It Ain’t Easy Being Green”! I think it’s called “Green Superfood” now.

    Good luck with the work 🙂

  12. I have all three of those books too! Skinny Bitch is the only one I have ever finished though. And I still need to finish Thrive.

    I haven’t had soy yogurt! I didn’t realize it was controversial. I don’t like yogurt, so I’ll stay away.

    Yum! I need to make some recipes from The Kind Diet! That looks so tasty 🙂

  13. Spirulina sounds so strange! I’m not sure if I could really eat it. I’d never ever heard of it.
    I’ve been reading a lot of school things 😦 Haven’t had time for personal reading in a couple weeks! Have a great day (: -Kylee

  14. Haha, yeah its hard to remember that some people are just vegetarian. My mom and brother are, and they are always asking me if I’ve tried their newest Morningstar find (their most recent is their “bacon”), but it ALL has dairy and eggs in it. So annoying.

    The store you work at looks awesome! We’re going to be passing through that way later this year, I’ll have to store that in the back of my mind.

  15. Glad you are enjoying Alicia’s book. I am a big fan of the Crocodile Crunch. It’s one of my faves from it.

    I haven’t had much of an opportunity to read lately, as I’ve been busy with little lady, updating my site, coming up with questions for Q&As, gathering products for reviews and trying to put together a mini e-book for my site. Hopefully, I can get at least some of this done. We’ll see what I can actually accomplish.

  16. Love those muffins!

    I’m reading a heck of a lot of dense critical material for university at the moment, but my light relief comes in the form of ‘Pride and Prejudice with Zombies,’ ‘The Lottery and Other Stories’ by Shirley Jackson and ‘Thinner’ by Stephen King. I adore my horror novels.

    Have a great week-end!

    ~Jess~

  17. I know the crocodile crunch is totally not the Chinese century egg but the picture sure fooled me there for a minute.

    Great muffins! I’d love to try out the recipe!

Leave a Reply

