Does size really matter?

Happy hump day!

Congratulations again to Averie for winning my first ever giveaway!

I wanted to add that picking the winner was totally random, and I used random number generator so all was fair. Thanks again to everyone who entered.

Another thank you to everyone who was sweet enough to comment on my last post. To be honest I was really nervous about posting those pictures of myself. Even though I am no longer 200 pounds like I used to be, sometimes like everyone else I get self-conscious. Sometimes I feel like the person in the mirror isn’t really me, does that make sense?

When I read Angela’s post all about her size healthy challenge she got me inspired. Why is so much worth put on our physical beauty and size? Why do we all feel the need to diet, obsess and take extreme measures in order to obtain the “perfect” physique. What is perfect anyway?

No one is perfect, I am not perfect and I don’t pretend to be. But yes I will admit like everyone else that have days when I don’t feel my best. We are our own worst critics, and some days I can be really hard on myself. If I don’t get in my run, or eat an extra cookie or two I can feel guilty just like anyone else. Sometimes I get worried that I will re-gain all of the weight that I have lost.

But then I stop. I realize that I am no longer 200 pounds, and I am a different person than I was two years ago. My life has done a complete 360 and I am healthier than I have ever been. If I gain a couple of pounds, I know I can lose them the healthy way without extreme dieting or workouts. It’s not the number or size that matters, its how we feel about ourselves.

I want to challenge you all to love yourselves, and appreciate all of the wonderful things that your body can do. 🙂

And im going to work on it too promise!

Now onto the eats… this is a food blog after all.

 A yummy banana creation with a delicious smeer or organic peanut butter, flax seed granola and sulfite-free chopped papaya.

Review Alert!

I sampled another variety of Stretch Island Fruit Companies fruit leathers – this time I tried mango sunrise. This flavor was delicious and like the others it only contained 45 calories and 1/2 a serving of fruit.

My other Stretch Island Fruit Co. Reviews for sun ripened raspberry and summer strawberry.

Seriously if you havent tried these yet and get the chance do! They are a much healthier version of a fruit roll-up only without all of the added preservatives and sugars.

Mashed sweet potato lovin’ whipped with vanilla soy milk, organic grated coconut, granola and a gigantic blob of almond butter. The most amazing combination ever. Sweet, savory and crunchy all at once. And for lack of a better name im calling this creation Nutty Num Num’s. Have you noticed that I like to name my kitchen concoctions weird things? 🙂 Is that strange?

I’m feeling glorious after me usual Wednesday Zumba class, and now I should be off and get ready for bed. I’ve got a  busy day ahead of me tomorrow!

Michal ♥

Question of the day – Do you ever deal with body image issues? When your having a down day,  how do you deal?

32 thoughts on “Does size really matter?

  1. I have 2 full length mirrors in my room, and sometimes I’ll look in one and feel bad about myself. Then I’ll catch a glimpse in the other one and realize that something is distorted about the way I’m viewing myself. If 2 mirrors which are supposedly reflecting the same reality make me feel 2 different ways, I know I need to clear my head and remind myself that I feel and look good, no matter what my analytical brain starts to think.

    And on the days when I’m really not doing so well, I put a little extra effort into my hair, my outfit, whatever, and it totally makes up for any doubt I was having before.

  2. I deal with body image issues all the time! It’s like I can never win! Growing up, I was always the scrawniest kid in the class.. not just skinny or slim, but scrawny! I was always made fun of, looking back I can safely say that they were probably jealous, even at that age. But I was always self conscious and hated it, so I ate so much, thinking that I had to gain at least a few pounds to make myself less scrawny… well a few years later, my metabolism finally gave way and I gained my desired pounds.. only a few too many (oops). My wonderful metabolism still made sure I didn’t get out of the slim range, but I was then, more uncomfortable about the added weight than I was when I was scrawny. And my family noticed the extra weight too, feeling it necessary to comment. It was then that I started exercising and eating healthier… perhaps my reasons were wrong, but it had to be done. 2 years later I’m still exercising and eating healthier than ever – I have never felt better about myself xD It sure kicks butt! When I’m having a down day, I try not to beat myself up too much, and wear sweat pants so I don’t have to endure the agony of my jeans teasing me xD I have learned, even though it is a challenge sometimes, not to listen to too much of what people love to throw your way, because in the end, your just going to be depressed and full of self hate, which isn’t good for the soul XD
    and in closing – I am definitely splitting a banana up tomorrow and making a meal out of it! That pic looks delicious!

  3. I’ve been reading your blog for a while now, but somehow I missed that you have had such big body changes so recently! That is amazing, you must be so proud of yourself! 🙂 In every picture I’ve seen, you have the most spectacular hair, it looks so perfect and shiny. 🙂 Looking forward to seeing how your ab challenge goes – I started doing some ab stuff a few months ago, and I feel SO much stronger than I used to, it’s amazing! -Eve

  4. This was such a good post! I have been thinking about this so much lately. All around me I constantly am hearing women dis themselves from all angles and I just want to scream to them to love their bodies. I totally have days when I feel blah, but to try to have fewer every night before I go to bed I write some sort of affirmation to myself on my bathroom mirror with a dry erase marker to see it first thing in the morning. This NEVER ceases to make me smile! PS – the mashed sweet potato combo is happening from this way SOON!

  5. I agree with the size healthy and positive body image. I am working on it, too. I have my days and lately it’s been really bad…but I am trying to fight this. I think I can do it.

    Ooo, I love the mashed sweet potato bowl! Great new recipe…I will have to try it. 🙂

  6. mmm love the sweet tater bowl!
    on hard days, i tell myself to NOT cope in unhealthy ways and to start over new tomorrow, i know that im allowed to have a bad day every now and then and i always have faith that the next day will be better.
    have a great night girl!

  7. Chopped sulfate-free papaya?! Definitely gonna put that one on my list!

    Zumba sounds like so much fun, I’m dying to try it! I wish I could find a class around here!

  8. There may not be such a thing as perfect but there IS such a thing as gorgeous! You are it! Congratulations on how far you’ve come. You look amazing and I can tell you feel it too. Thanks for this inspiring post!

  9. yes, we all have those days that we don’t feel pretty, or more toward ugly and the more we think that way, more that way we will be.
    I try to get out of that state by talking to friends, do something that I like or do make up to make me pretty at least from outside.

  10. Oooh, that banana looks like the perfect snack!

    Yep, sometimes I catch myself getting really DOWN on myself, even if I haven’t done anything differently. It’s so important to learn to love yourself for who you are, and not uphold yourself to impossible standards…but easier said that done, right?

  11. I deal with body image issues all the time but when I notice the negative thoughts coming in, I try to replace them with positive ones – if I’m about to pick on my thighs, I say how strong they are and how they allow me to run which is something I love to do. 🙂

  12. LOVE the name “nutty num nums” 😉 That concoction looks PHENOM!

    You are really such an inspiration. I can tell that you’re never going to gain the weight back because you have the right mindset and attitude. We’re all going to fall into the trap of feeling guilty if we skip a workout or eat an extra slice of pizza – that’s inevitable. But it’s our *reactions* to those situations that shows whether we’ve truly adopted a healthy lifestyle.

  13. Of course I struggle with my body image from time to time! Sadly, I think a lot of women do. There’s a fine line between wanting to improve something….say, working on your abs…and viewing them negatively as they are. I try to embrace my body for what it can already do, but I want it to be even stronger!

    It sounds strange, but when I’m down it helps me to eat a nice, big, clean meal. It reminds me that a full belly can equal a happy belly, not a guilty, uncomfortable one!

  14. if I am having a bad day, I usually make that a GREAT workout day, it always makes me feel so much better must be all of those endorphins! or I cook an awesome dinner, I love being creative in the kitchen to ease some stress!!

    that mashed sweet potato creation looks awesome!!

  15. Girl you are gorgeous!! And yes we deal with body issues all the time, actually we have been facing it a lot lately. Both of us have felt we hit a plateau in our workouts, and have been struggling to stay positive.

    SO I thank you for reminding me that numbers are everything….we are not perfect nor do we have to be! Just enjoy life, right?

  16. I love the name… so cute! Nutty Num Num’s! They sell those fruit leathers at the convenience store on campus and I’ve always wanted to try them, but never got around to it. Now I will!

    I Zumba on Wednesdays too! Don’t you just love it?

  17. gorgeous girl! and healthy and happy, that’s the most important part 🙂 I always try not to beat myself up too much and realize how thankful I am to have this body and vehicle for me! when I sit in awe of this functioning body and all that it does for me, i can’t help but to smile and try not to think of the bad things. I’m kind of thinking of doing a pre/post century picture? we’ll see 🙂

  18. I love this post. You are so beautiful and I’m so glad you have the strength to realize it. Num num nummmm I can’t wait to try your new creation!! (haha it sounds a little dirty in that context!)

  19. I love what you are saying… but there is still that 200 number posted… I am close to 200 pounds now, and think I look fine too. Of course, I don’t know how tall you are… but feel like you are saying 200 is bad. Hope that didn’t come off too mean. It’s just how I interpreted it.

  20. Who doesn’t deal with body issues? Even women that I see as the most beautiful people have a different view of themselves.

    However, I feel healthy, I love my life and my husband tells me all the time that I’m beautiful. This does worlds for my self esteem and confidence.

  21. Love your banana sandwich!

    I definitely can get down on myself about my body. I think it is normal to a point for girls to have moments like this. I try to always remind myself that I am healthy and have already lost some weight and need to be proud of what I have already accomplished.

  22. I just found your blog! I already “signed up” for the ab-challenge. What a great idea!

    Wow, you look amazing! I would have never guessed that you ever had any weight issues. Congratulations on your success!

    I definitely had (have) body image issues. But for me it was never about the number. NEVER. It was always about looking to flabby or too thin, not the right proportions etc. Or about my face…if that counts.

    How I deal with it: When there is enough to do (things I like) then I do not have time to worry about my body. It also helps to avoid situations where it becomes an issue. For me a big step was moving away from “high society” Zurich. Also wearing something you love helps sometimes. And trying to avoid mirrors on a day where you feel “ugly”. Out of sight, out of mind. 🙂

  23. I handle the pressure by remembering how lucky I am to just be alive. There’s hundreds of people who are being tortured, starving, killed…

    Or just hang out with friends. They are so silly, you always forget the pressure 🙂

  24. I deal with body issues so much, but in the end I tell myself it’s all about being healthy! Not being super thin, or having great abs, or whatever. But feeling going and being comfortable in my own skin!

Leave a Reply

