Raw Synergy & Excitation!

I really enjoyed hearing everyones experiences with spinning classes!

Last week when I took my first spinning class I was a little bit disappointed, but I’ve decided that I am going to give it another try. I’ll let you guys know how it goes!

My four-day weekend has been great. I have been able to just relax and enjoy myself.  I have decided that I will be posting some small excerpts from my research paper within the next week or two so make sure you keep an eye out. I really want to get some feedback from you guys to see what you think.

Review Alert!

For a long time now I have wanted to try a Synergy drink. Synergy drinks are made by Millenium Products and are organic, vegan, and 100% raw using Kombucha. There are no preservatives, artificial flavorings or caffeine.

You might be asking though – what is kombucha?

Kombucha is alternately known as a Chinese tea, a plant, or a mushroom. It’s a living culture of beneficial microorganisms, and in Kombucha’s case, the whole is infinitely greater than the sum of its parts! Kombucha is delicately cultured. During this period, essential nutrients form like active enzymes, viable probiotics, amino acids, antioxidants and polyphenols. All of these combine to create an elixir that immediately works with the body to restore balance and vitality. Kombucha has been used for hundreds of years throughout the world as a daily health tonic. The culture resembles a light brown, tough, gelatinous disk—and because it’s a living, growing entity, it can regenerate and create new cultures with every batch.

I have been curious about trying kombucha for a long time. Well it was different. Not a bad different just not what I was expecting. I was expecting something sort of sweet… or similar to a juice drink? It was very pungent and I split one bottle over three days. It is an acquired taste. However the health benefits that come with drinking kombucha are many…

  • promotes healthy digestion
  • weight loss
  • boosts your metabolism
  • supports your immune system
  • has anti-aging properties and promotes health skin and hair

Kombucha may be known by many names in other parts of the world, including Manchurian Tea, Manchu Fungus, Tea Kvass, Mo-Gu Fungus japonicus, Kwassan, and many others. Kombucha has been brewed and drunk since 222 BC!

The verdict? Would I buy this again? Maybe… it was different thats for sure. If I try it again I think I will try a different flavor.

Green Oats!

I had this steamy bowl of yum to warm me up.

I have some exciting news to share – I got accepted to my top choice college today. I have been working towards this since my freshman year and I can’t believe that I finally got in! I almost don’t know what to do with myself now! I’ve finished filling out the FAFSA and after I turn it in, I just have to worry about scholarships. 🙂 One of the best parts about the college I have been accepted to is that they are really accommodating towards vegetarian and vegan diets, and have many options for me!  They have fresh fruit and huge salad bars all day, every day. Rice milk, soymilk, soy yogurt, soy cheeses, tofu, nuts, seeds and dried fruit. They also have gluten-free options, as well as a focus on sustainable agriculture and make an effort to use all local goods. How awesome is that!? Plus they have these different houses on campus where you can live instead of dorm rooms, and each house has a theme. I’m going to see if I can start a vegan/vegetarian house! I can’t wait till college starts!!

I’m really enjoying my day off today. I’ve got biscotti in the oven, laundry in the dryer and im sipping a nice cup of tea. Tomorrow starts a new semester and the last half of my senior year! Tonight Ive got a zumba class at 5:30 and then my favorite show secret life of an american teenager is on!

Michal ♥

Question of the day – Have you ever tried kombucha? What did you think of it?

22 thoughts on “Raw Synergy & Excitation!

  1. I just love reading your blog because all these good things keep happening to you. You are a positive force making things happen. The very best of luck to you in college. Now, come scholarships come scholarships come scholarships. Keep thinking it, and they will come.

  2. Ooo, do try the kombucha again! It definitely is an acquired taste, but I know when I drink it regularly I crave it, even though I’m not head over heels in love with the flavour. (so weird!). The mango flavour is probably the least kombucha-y. 🙂 I’m looking forward to reading excerpts of your position paper! -Eve

  3. Duuuuude! Never tried Kombucha, but I’ve always wanted to! I shall try it soon!
    (Actually, Kombu in Japanese means seaweed. The very thick ones. Coool!)
    Nice oats; very greeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeen! 😀

    Awesome getting in to your top choice college! You totally should start a veg*n house! I’m going to be sooooooooo jealous!

    Have a good, relaxing time! I’m going to get my time after this week! XD

  4. I JUST bought some Synergy over the weekend – you have to get the raspberry one, all of the others are gross! I’ve tried one other and I know people who’ve had others; we agree that raspberry is the best! It settles my tummy and the fizzy taste is like drinking a soda (only it tastes way different!). I love kombucha 🙂

  5. Congrats on your college acceptance! I can’t wait to see how it goes for you – especially with all of that yummy vegan food and maybe even the veg house! Earlham has a veg house, but I can’t live there until my Sophomore year.

    I have never tried Kombucha, but have been wanting to for a while. Spin classes sound fun! I want to try them, as well as Zumba, soon!

  6. Hmm, never tried or heard of Kombucha (I actually had to scroll up to see how it was spelled!) but I like the sound of it. All those health benefits would definitely convince me to give it a try if I ever saw it.

    THAT IS SO AWESOME ABOUT THE COLLEGE! Huuuuuuuuge congrats!!!!! 😀 What are you planning on taking while there? You’ve probably mentioned it but I forget everything. 😦 It sounds like a magical college though.. ^.^

  7. i’ve had kombucha before and i really liked it! they used to sell it where i work in drinks and stuff and it made it taste a little different but the nutrients in it are aweeesome!
    oh and btw CONGRATS on getting accepted! i know how exciting that feels!! woo! 🙂

  8. I’m a big fan of the grape kombucha. It reminds me of grape soda. Unfortunately, I haven’t had any since getting pregnant with Hayden. I didn’t know if it was still safe for me to drink.

  9. Congratulations on getting into your top choice for college! The school that I went to had all sorts of veggie and vegan foods, which is awesome! And you don’t have to make them yourself…

    I actually have been “brewing” kombucha in my kitchen off and on for a while. My culture is inactive right now, he’s living in a tupperware in my fridge. My kombucha doesn’t taste as zippy as the bottled stuff (I like G&T’s green kombucha- don’t remember exactly what it is called) but it’s tasty and interesting to make. I think the mushroom is sometimes called a “SCOBY” which stands for symbiotic colony of bacteria and yeast. It kind of creeps me out to know that I’m drinking those little guys… but they make me healthy and happy so I appreciate them!

Leave a Reply

