It’s a Festivus miracle!

It was the night before christmas eve (eve)…

And all through the house…

Only one girl was stirring, making all kinds of sounds.

Awake in the kitchen, wee hours of the night.

Chopping and blending, with all of her might.

Okay so maybe im exaggerating a bit, but can anyone else believe that christmas eve is tomorrow? I’ve been busy the past few days getting ready for christmas. Now im finally relaxing watching one of my favorite episodes of Seinfeld. Festivus anyone? 🙂 All the presents are wrapped, packages shipped and menu (almost) planned. Now onto some tasty eats…

A big mug of carrot juice. Yum! In my starbucks sixbucks mug.

With the holidays means cookies! I made this special batch of cookies for a new friend of mine *cough Miho cough*. I may or may not have snagged a couple for myself too 😉

Chai Infused Sugar Cookies

Ingredients

2 cups unbleached flour

3/4 cups raw cane sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 cup apple sauce

1/2 cup oil

2 tsp organic vanilla extract

Cinnamon, nutmeg, chai spice (optional – if made without they are like regular sugar cookies)

Preparation

In a medium-sized bowl mix together flour, sugar, baking powder and spices. In another bowl mix together the apple sauce, oil and vanilla extract. Mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees, and roll out your cookie dough and cut into shapes. Bake for about 12-15 minutes until warm and golden.

Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

Note the christmas tree dish.

My mom is so proud of that thing I made it in the fifth grade!

Smoothie + soup = smoup.

Thats what I like to call my daily creations. You may or may not know my weird obsession with eating my smoothies out of bowls with spoon. Call me weird but it makes them taste so much better. On the side was an unusually juicy pear.

If you are still looking for some last-minute christmas ideas…

The lovely Gena has posted her holiday menu – check out her “meat” loaf!

Foods for Long Life has posted a complete raw menu from start to finish.

Vegweb has some delicious ideas.

Rawdorable has the best recipes ever. Candy cane cookies anyone? 😉

How about trying my raw vegetable coulis, SP&NB soup or spiced carrot puree?

Tomorrow I’ve got a special post planned that I can’t wait to share! I’m actually working a few hours tomorrow, but then I get to spend my evening with Earth Mama. Movie watching and present opening (not to mention eating!). Well im off to put up my Festivus bowl and then carry on with the airing of grievances. Oh and I can’t leave out the feats of strength, what is Festivus without it?

Michal ♥

Question of the day – What are some of your christmas traditions?

Averie is having an awesome cookie giveaway!

8 thoughts on “It’s a Festivus miracle!

  1. Carrot juice.. it intrigues me but doesn’t sound like it would taste too good. I like carrots though.. like, a lot.

    I can’t wait to see what your post is tomorrow!! 😮

    We don’t really have any traditions, not really. Except crepes that aren’t vegan. 😦

  2. Wow! I’m excited to get the package! Mmm-hmm! (Honestly, I LOVE cookies, but I NEVER have them at home! Haaaapineeessss!)

    Nice cup by the way. And the carrotness looks very orange-y 😉 Yum!

    I shall try putting my smoothies in a bowl tomorrow. Very interesting way to eat/drink your smoothies! 😉 Ha ha, I use a glass but I use a spoon too! ❤

    Rawdorable's cookies are awesome! Very cute, eh? I'm excited for your post tomorrow! XD

  3. Thanks so much for the shout out. That was a lovely surprise.

    That carrot juice is right up my alley. I need to dust off the juicer. I’ve been a bit lazy with it, since I hate cleaning it when I’m done.

    Merry Christmas!

  4. Those cookies look great! I love the addition of chai.
    One of my favorite traditions is playing a game or cards on christmas day with the family. It’s just so much fun to get the family all together!
    Hope you had a wondeful christmas!

Leave a Reply

