Job Shadowing Re-Cap!

Hi guys!    

Sorry for my lack of posting, but school work and work-work has been keeping me busy. It also comes first! But I also wanted to make sure that I did this post justice!    

cafe decorated for christmas!

 

As you all know I went job shadowing at my favorite vegan restaurant The Flaming Ice Cube this past monday, and it had to be the most incredible experience ever! Not only was I able to learn a lot, but I was able to sample some of the most delicious food I have ever tasted.    

Ill start the re-cap from the beginning… this post is pic heavy I couldnt resist sharing some of my favorite things that we did!    

    

Right away when I got to the Flaming Ice Cube I was sent right back into the kitchen to meet with Jessica, who was my mentor for the day. She is manager and chef for the restaurant, and she is very talented and knowledgeable. She is in charge of planning and creating the menu, daily specials and does catering and makes gourmet cakes and cookies too! Jessica started off the day with making a new recipe for muffins – Cranberry Pear Cardamom Muffins.  

    

    

They tasted more amazing than they looked, they were so warm and savory.  The combination of pear, cranberry and a little bit of cardamom was so different from anything I have ever tried before.  

    

Next a batch of their famous red velvet cupcakes were made – and yours truly got to assist with the frosting.    

    

You can tell I did these 😉    

    

Much better – these are what they should look like! But I was happy that mine  didnt turn out too horrible, it was my first time using a pastry bag.    

    

This was one of the most delicious things I have ever had! Back when I was a SAD eater I would love to eat macaroni and cheese, so when Jessica decided to make macaroni with a teese’ bechamel sauce I was thrilled. I was able to sample teese’ in the cheddar flavor which I had never tried before it was so delicious!    

    

No macaroni and cheese is complete without a vegan parmesan and ezekiel bread crumb topping!    

    

This had to be the star of the show. The wonderful staff at the restaurant gave me a coupon to buy one sandwich and get one free. Throughout the day we had many conversations about favorite items on the menu, and they all couldnt believe it when I told them that I never tried the Mediterranean Panini. So of course I couldn’t leave without trying it! 😉    

  

Artichoke spread topped with roasted red pepper, fresh spinach, red onion, vegan mayo, tomato and kalamata olives.  

Amazing! Words that come to mind when I think of this sandwich are incredible, delectable and OMG! On the side I had a black bean salsa.  

My second sandwich that I took home to share with Earth Mama was a vegan burger with all the fixin’s.  

I had the most incredible time, everyone was so nice and I was able to get first hand experience on what it is like to be a vegan chef. The knowledge that I gained alone from spending a few hours in the kitchen was so beneficial to me. Jessica not only showed me all of the responsibilities that come with being a chef (menu planning, catering, managing stock and ordering), but she also gave me an idea as to what it would be like if I decided to pursue cooking/culinary arts after I graduate.  

Another amazing thing happened there too… they might be needing to hire someone soon! And guess who it might be? 🙂 Im keeping my fingers crossed!Tomorrow I’ve got a fun package from an amazing new friend! 

Michal ♥  

Question of the day –   

What have I missed? My google reader is backed up so far! Anything new?

17 thoughts on “Job Shadowing Re-Cap!

  1. Amazing experience, Michal! 🙂 I would love to do something like that. I am interested in pursuing some sort of vegan culinary/cooking schooling after I graduate. But, I don’t think I want it to be my main focus in college. I would love to take raw “cooking” classes!

    • Raw cooking classes would be so fun! Do you know they have a raw food academy called 105 degrees where you can become a raw chef? How cool is that? I dont think im going to go for only cullinary after highschool, perhaps maybe after I get my masters I will go back to get a degree in that, I think it would be so much fun!

      Maybe one day me, you and Miho could all take classes together 🙂

      • That would be awesome! I will have to look into that 105 Degrees place. 🙂 I also would go back after getting at least a bachelors degree, if not a masters.

  2. Luuuuucky! You should think of cooking/culinary arts for the future! That would be so much fun; you can travel all over and teach us how to make stuff and write a cook book! 😀 I wish there was a store like the Flaming Icecube!

    I hope you get the job, because it sounds like you’d be a perfect fit for them! 😀

    Ha ha! Katie, a raw “cooking” class would be fun! XD

    You didn’t miss much! And hmmmmm…I wonder who the package is from…*cough cough* Always love your blog Michal! 😀

  3. Be the change, Michal. The world needs more vegan chefs. I hope you get the job, if it’s what you want, and a big fat scholarship to culinary school.

  4. All that food looks so amazing! There aren’t any vegan restaurants where I live so I guess that means you’ll just have to enjoy yours for moi. 😛 Do you know when you’ll find out if you were hired or not?

    • Ill do my best 🙂 I should find out pretty soon now. They are waiting for a girl to give two weeks notice for when she goes back to grad school. So they said as soon as she puts in the call ill get my call!

      Your blog looks great btw, I added it to my blog roll.

Leave a Reply

