Happy Hundreth!

Happy Tuesday! I hope the transition with going back to school and work went smoothly for you all.

Im happy to be back in school, but seriously who agrees with me when I say that this weekend went by too fast. I honestly dont even remember what I did over these past four days (besides shopping of course :))

I just realized that this post is my 100th post! I can’t believe it!

Wow! I feel like I should do something special or make some kind of big announcement. Unfortunately I dont really have anything special planned. This was so out of the blue. But I suppose hitting the big 100 is a big deal, and im looking forward to the many hundred more posts that are to come!

Mail call!

You might remember me mentioning how I won a giveaway over on one of my favorite blogs Veg is Sexy, for five boxes of Yogavive organic apple chips. I was thrilled when I opened the box and saw that they sent me six boxes instead of five. It’s my lucky day! 🙂

They sent me five different varieties of their Yogachips – apple cinnamon, caramel, strawberry, original and peach.

“Yogachips are made from the highest quality USDA certified organic Fuji apples. We use a two part drying process where the apples are oven baked and then popped to give you a snack that is 100% fat-free and bursting with real apple flavor. Our crispy apple chips come in 5 different varieties including Original, Apple Cinnamon, Caramel, Peach and Strawberry. As a light snack, Yogachips contain nutrients of their fresh fruit essence, making them a healthy part of a complete diet.”

Yogachips in apple cinnamon

 Right away I decided to open a bag of the apple cinnamon flavor to sample. These were delicious, a definite party in my mouth! They were sweet and crunchy and oh so apple-y! They were a hit with my mom too. We both love how they come in such convenient portable packages, making it easy to grab them on the go for a quick energy boost.

 For my family on thanksgiving I wanted to make them a really tasty dessert, so I decided that I would make spice cupcakes – I used this recipe here for the cupcakes. The frosting however was my own creation. We had no real ingredients on hand to make any kind of frosting that I found online or in any one of my cookbooks. I ended up just throwing things into a bowl and kept my fingers crossed as I beat it with the mixer. It turned out so yummy! Everyone gave it a big thumbs up 🙂 I was so pleased.

PB Pumpkin Spice Frosting

1/3 cup peanut butter (or any nut butter)

3.5 cups powdered sugar (I made my own using recipe here)

2 teaspoons of organic vanilla extract

1/4 cup soy milk

1 small ripe banana

1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice

Dash of nutmeg

Water (if needed)

Assembly

Put peanut butter, vanilla, banana and soy milk into a deep bowl and beat with mixer until the mixture is fluffy and the banana is mashed. Add powdered sugar 1/2 cup at a time and mix well. The mixture will being to get stiff but keep mixing. Chill until ready to use, let it warm up a bit before spreading.

If mixture is too thin, add more powdered sugar. If to thick, add water a tablespoon at a time and beat until desired consistency is reached.

It’s supposed to snow tonight! As you know I love looking at the snow, but I hate the cold.

Michal ♥

A very nice giveaway over at Living Fit Daily.

12 thoughts on “Happy Hundreth!

  1. Hi Michal,
    I just found your blog yesterday! I am not even sure how I ended up here, but I just wanted to tell you that I totally enjoy your spirit. I only wish that when I was 17 I was as conscientious as you are. I have been a vegetarian for over a year and am making the switch to vegan. I just find it overwhelming, so its nice to see that all your recipes that you post are have ingredients that I can probably find easy at my local store.
    Thanks again!
    Katie

    • Hi Katie 🙂 Thanks for the kind words! Congratulations on making the movement towards becoming vegan. Every little bit helps. A lot of the time it is really overwhelming, I know when I first became vegan I did a lot of reading! Thats one of the reasons why I started this blog, so I can hopefully help other people. I hope you continue to read my blog!

      Michal

  2. Yeay! Congrats on your 100th post! Long ways! Keep it up! Always checking it! 😀

    Lucky you got 6 boxes instead of 5! Have you tried the one from the pink box? Just curious; attractive colors 🙂

    I would totally bake if my oven actually works!! XD But it looks really good!

    P.S: About how many hours do you exercise a day? I wanted to start too, and I need an average workout time 🙂

    And I hope you get your other box soon! X3

    • The pink flavor is the strawberry kind, and I haven’t tried it yet but I am looking forward to it! Im sure it will be super tasty!

      Oh no and your oven’s broken – thats no fun!

      As for my workout times I usually try to work out 45-60 minutes per day. On days when I take my zumba classes I also lift weights too. But if you just want to get started with working out, I would start off nice and slow. When I first started out I would only go for maybe 20-30 minutes, and then I worked my way up. I found that if I pushed myself too hard I got discouraged and then wanted to quit. Now I think I have found a good system! Finally haha but it could always use improvements.

      I cant wait for the other box, hopefully it will arrive any day now! Squee 🙂

      Michal

  3. Thanks, Michal! I am swamped with college stuff, too. Scholarships, especially!
    Oh and I just wish I could go straight into raw eating! Every time I eat cooked things, my stomach feels so full and gross. But, I don’t want to waste anything. 😦 How often do you incorporate tofu? And, what other non-raw things do you eat on a daily basis? I think I may keep cooked root vegetables, every so often…and maybe tofu, if it doesn’t cause me stomach troubles.

    Don’t worry about replying right away; take your time! I know it can be stressful! I need to get on my homework now. =P

    Take care 🙂

Leave a Reply

