Zu-zumba

So much is happening!

So tomorrow I get to get out of school for a day because I am job shadowing at a local news station. I have mentioned before that I am considering broadcast journalism as a possible major in college. Well I contacted the news station and they said they would be happy to have me in the studio for the day! How exciting! I am a little nervous though, there is a chance that I might get to actually be in front of the camera. Look out morning news here I come!

In addition to this I have begun to help the rest of the seniors in the band put together our senior show. Every year on our last home football game, the senior band class gets to completely design a field show. This year I had suggested a Grease theme – and everyone loved it. Were beginning to work on choregoraphy now, which I totally love.

018

015

I completely forgot about this meal I had last week. Raw sea kelp noodles on a bed of spinach and broccoli with tomato sauce, oregano and sesame seeds for crunch.

I have been doing well with my diet. These past couple weeks I noticed that I was beginning to include a lot more cooked foods into my diet, as well as a lot of soy products. I don’t like to be too dependent on one or two specific things for food and nutrition, so I decided that I am bumping my diet back up to 90-95% raw. It is actually quite a welcome change, I notice that my energy levels are improving and I am beginning to get my creative juices flowing again. (Writing my last seven page paper killed me!) I have also begun to branch out and explore many different fruits and things that I haven’t tried before.

Since my last post I have made it a priority to create a sense of balance between my excercise and my diet. Lately I find myself gravitating more towards heavy cardio, and end up skimping out in weights due to a time crunch. Well I am hoping to have made a change for the better. Tonight I took my second Zumba class at my gym, and I didn’t touch a dumbbell or a cardio machine.

What is Zumba you ask? Zumba is a workout that mixes body sculpting movements with dance steps derived from mereunge, salsa, hip hop, mambo, rumba, flamenco and many more. All the routines feature aerobic interval training and combines both fast and slow rhythms. It targets areas such as the glutes, legs, arms, abdominals, and the heart. You really do work up a sweat, I know I did! Have you taken a Zumba class, what was your experience with it. Love it or leave it?

I know for me personally that when I took my first class this past Friday I was bouncing around like an idiot and I maybe got a little too into it. One thing I loved about it though is that there were people of all ages in there, and everyone was able to get a great work out in without being stuck on a machine. Everyone was able to do what felt right for them.

If you’re looking for something to have for dinner tonight, why not give my Creamy Corn Chowder a go! It’s delicious 🙂

15 thoughts on “Zu-zumba

  1. I’ve never wanted to try Zumba. I don’t know why but it just doesnt appeal to me which is funny because I heart Body Pump, Step and a LOT of other classes! Anything that gets me away from gym machines is a “yes”!
    The corn chowder sounds delicious!!!

  2. I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read….

Leave a Reply

