Munch!

TGIF!

Morning peaches ♥

I am so happy that today is Friday, I can’t wait for the weekend to get started. I have so much left to do in order to get ready for back to school, I can’t believe I go back in three days! Lot’s of interesting things happening on my end. I was supposed to have a band show last night but it got cancelled because there were tornado warnings so we had to sit on the bus! It was quite scary actually but everything turned out okay!

Lot’s of tasty eatin going on in the muffin household these past couple days…

good ol' green monsters

good ol' green monsters

Green smoothies have been a huge trend on the first breakfast front for me. I never seem to grow tired of them. As usual I add my Nutiva hemp protein powder and a banana, and a scoop or two of granola.

tasty carrot juice

tasty carrot juice

Yesterday morning I broke out Lucy (aka my Breville juicer) and put her to work. I always forget how much I love my morning cock-tails of carrot apple juice.

pb smothered goodness

pb smothered goodness

Lot’s of smooth Maranatha PB on top of my favorite Lundberg farm rice cakes.

hugh jass salad

hugh jass salad

I have been eating my leafy green’s by the pounds this week. This salad though was by far the best! I basically emptied the contents of our fridge into this bowl. I have sweet corn, green onions, spinach, tomato, red grapes, apples, a banana and a delicious baked sweet potato. With annie’s lite raspberry vinaigrette I was chowin’ down!

This morning with my breakfast I also tried something new for the first time – a plantain! Where is the picture you might ask? Well honeslty it didn’t look that appetizing so I was pretty skepitcal, but I ate it anyway. It was good. Sweet but not too sweet and a little sticky. I would get them again, but I think I like my regular old bananas better!

Plantains tend to be firmer and lower in sugar content than dessert bananas, alot of times are used in heartier dishes and stir-frys. They have a thicker skin than bananas do and when ripe they are a dark brown/blackish color. Plantains are excellent at promoting digestion, they also help your body retain more calcium, phosphorous and nitrogen … which will help rejuvenate your healthy tissues. They also contain high levels of vitamin A, potassium, calcium, iron and fiber. Go give one a try and tell me what you think! I think I might pick up a couple more and try cooking them to see if they taste any better.

I am working again today and tomorrow, and my mom and I will be running around to the store picking up a few last minute things, that means shopping! Have a great weekend!

Question of the day –

What are your plans for this weekend, anything fun or exciting?

7 thoughts on “Munch!

  1. mmm . . . I’m seeing green! nice! love all your eats. I’ve never made plantains before but they sure are tasty when cooked twice. I think alton did a good episode of them? I’m so glad it’s friday too! The weekends go by too fast and I’m starting classes again monday . . . eek! Where did the summer go? This weekend we’re going to a bday/housewarming party and hopefully a long bike ride 🙂 Have a great weekend!
    -kristen

  2. Love the sweet potato in your ensalada!! Dreamy.
    Ooh I wanna buy plaintains and make some caribbean food…yummm.
    Weekend plans = packing up my apartment to move next weekend!! Have a lovely weekend

  3. How would you suggest cooking a plantain? I bought one the other day and I have half of it left (in the freezer). I fried the other half with some Earth Balance and cinnamon, but it was not tasty at all. I don’t think the plantain was ripe enough yet. What do you suggest? 🙂

    • Well im new to plantains myself so I might not be much help – i just bought a couple more today though! If you want something savory you could maybe just try frying it in a little bit of EVOO in a skillet on the stove. Or for something more sweet you could try frying them with a little pineapple juice and cinnamon. Do you know what color the peel was when you put it in the freezer? 🙂

      • The peel was dark yellow with some browning. Was it ripe enough, yet? I hope so, because it seemed as if it had been on the counter waiting forever to ripen! Haha

  4. love your breakfast combo.. green monster in a bowl and orange juice!!!! So fresh and tons of vitamins there. 😉
    I’ve never tried plantains, so can’t help much.

Leave a Reply

