Ode to Oats

Today has been such a fun day so far!

My cousin slept over last night and we had so much fun talking and painting our nails. After church in the morning my mom and I ran out to Kohl’s and we bought a new food processor/blender! This is really exciting because now we have a full size blender as opposed to my teeny food processor and magic bullet.

This morning I had green juice with broccoli, cucumber, apple and a scoop of my favorite hemp protein powder. It was really nice to change it up a bit since my usual is a carrot-apple cocktail.

i love this cute mug (:

i love this cute mug (:

Last night after I got home from my family picnic my mom and I got to hang out and watch a couple of movies. It was really nice to be able to catch up since we have both been so busy. For a snack I made my banana soft serve, only I added hemp protein powder to it. It made it taste so good, it gave it a delicious nutty flavor.

tastes even better than it looks!

tastes even better than it looks!

Now this morning I was feeling pretty creative. A week or two ago my mom bought some raw oat groats and I have been trying to decide how to use them. I am proud to say that I have figured out how to make my own raw version of cocoa wheat’s! This was a perfect and hearty way to start off my day.

Real Deal Oat-Meal
  
1/2 – 1 cup of oat groats (soaked overnight)
 1 cup luke warm water
 1 packet stevia in the raw
 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
 dash of nutmeg
1 banana – cut in half
2 tbsp. hemp protein powder
 
Assembly
  
Place the oat groats in a bowl with about 2 cups of water luke warm water for at least 2 hours before hand, so they soften up a bit. I soaked mine overnight for about 8 hours. Once your oats are soaked to your liking, drain out the excess water and scoop the oats into your blender. Add the lukewarm water, cinnamon, nutmeg, stevia and 1/2 the banana and blend on high for two minutes or until desired consistency is reached.
 
Pour into a bowl and add the banana, feel free to serve with fresh fruit to dip it in. Top with a sprinkle of cinnamon, or you can add maple syurp, agave nectar, honey, or whatever you like in order to make it special!
Real Deal Oat-Meal

Real Deal Oat-Meal

Oat Groats are simply oats that have had their hard outer husks removed. They are very inexpensive, and they are packed with nutrition that will help keep you satisfied for hours. Oat groats are very rich in potassium! They are also a wonderful carbohydrate that will give you energy over a long period of time. Oats are also a good source of protein, calcium, iron, B vitamins, riboflavin, thiamine, & phosphorous. Oats are very easily digested and will help fight infection and aide in protecting you from getting sick. They can be stored in an air-tight container in the fridge or freezer and can last for months. Raw oat groats are oats in their “wholest” edible form.

On my agenda for tonight is going to the movies with one of my best friends, were going to go see the movie “Up” which we both have heard is super cute!

Have a great sunday, now go and make a snack!

Peace & Muffins,

Michal

One thought on “Ode to Oats

Leave a Reply

