Holy Bananas!

I have the best most delicious tasty thing to share with you guys.

Seriously.

This is not a joke. : )

Banana Soft Serve

2 bananas – cut up and frozen

Cinnamon, vanilla extract (optional)

Assembly

Simply place bananas in batches into your food processor and mix. You might have to do this a couple times depending on the size of your food processor. Also be sure to scrape down the sides every once in a while to make sure that it becomes creamy. If you like you can mix in some vanilla extract, or sprinkle with cinnamon. Serve immediately or within a few minutes if you like it more melty.

june302009 002

june302009 004

you dont know how in love I am

you dont know how in love I am

my new obsession

my new obsession

I didn’t lie did I? It only took about an hour for the bananas to freeze and overall it only took me five minutes to make. Oh by the way it only took me two minutes to devour all of it. That includes licking the bowl hehe : )

All in all i’ve had a yummy in my tummy food day today.

june302009 008

Lots of fresh fruit.

peaches, green grapes, apples and bananas
peaches, green grapes, apples and bananas

I also had a big juicy orange this morning and then almost choked on a seed! I guess it was just so tasty that I was eating it a wee bit to fast. This morning I also got a chance to try out some chia seeds – I mixed them in with my usual morning juice and I was surprisedby how much they expanded. It freaked me out a little until I got on the internet and did some research. Here is what I found out…

The chia seed is an excellent source of fiber, packed with antioxidants, full of protein, loaded with vitamins
and minerals, and the richest known plant source of omega-3. You can eat chia seeds right from the bag, or you can mix them in with your favorite drink, salads, sandwhiches, anything! Also chia seeds can stay fresh for a long time when stored in an air tight container in the fridge.

 The chia seed has been popular for centuries, being used as early as in pre-Columbian times by the Aztec’s and Mayan’s. The really cool thing about chia seeds is that when you hydrate the seeds in water the seeds shell opens up and absorbs up to nine times its volume in water! This then forms a gel, which is called Chia Seed Gel. The gel helps keep your body hydrated. The gel is also 90% soluble fiber, which is beneficial for your digestive track. This means that you can use the gel to make all kinds of tasty puddings and yummy treats. Isn’t that awesome?

I am just having the best day ever here on my end! Ive got some seeds soaking and im hoping that they are going to be ready later on so I can use them to try out this recipe that I have had my eye on for a while now. Tonight on my agenda I have color guard practice and then I have to take some AP notes and hang out with my mom.

Go make some banana ice cream!

Michal : )

Oh I almost forgot in honor of Justine’s 100th post on her blog I wanted to leave my own little Confession of the Day :

I am really weird when it comes to teeth. I have nightmare’s all the time about my teeth falling out. Just thinking about teeth gives me the heebie jeebies even though they are so important. Aren’t I a little weirdo?

Be sure to check out Justine’s blog.

5 thoughts on “Holy Bananas!

  1. Hahaha. I love your confession!! Thanks for the shout. Man I really want to make that banana soft serve but I ate way to much sweet stuff over the weekend! Soon though, it will be gracing my lips soon :). Chia seeds seem to be pretty amazing little things Huh? I love those little suckers. Have you made Chia gel yet?

    ~Justine

  2. I hate teeth too!!! I do brush of course, but it makes me gag and I don’t like mouths much either. This is unfortunate as I am training to be a Speech Pathologist and we spend a lot of time looking in peoples’ mouths!
    PS Love your blog, I think you’re awesome 🙂 I’m from New Zealand and check it every day
    Keep up the good work! xx

  3. Amy thank you for the sweet words about me and my blog. You really made my day!! : ) Im glad that im not the only person who has a teeth phobia. That is so cool that you are traning to be a speech pathologist – that would be such an interesting career! Im glad that you enjoy my blog and I hope to hear from you again soon.

    Justine no I havent had a chance to make chia gel yet but I cannot wait until I can! Im trying to decide what exactly I am going to do with it because there are so many yummy possabilities. Let me know how you like the banana soft serve!

Leave a Reply

