Savory Carrot Cakes

Hello, I hope you all are having a gorgeous Monday : )
I have been super busy lately finishing up my driving classes and working like crazy. Today I get to chill out and relax until about five, and then I have to go to my final driving class until nine-thirty! I still can’t believe that I am finishing up my classes. Now I have been tinkering around in the kitchen and last night I came up with a new little recipe  – it turned out super yummy! In a previous post I mentioned my love of alfalfa sprouts and how I hadn’t had them in a while well lookie and what my mom brought home for me!
alfalfa sprouts! yay!

alfalfa sprouts! yay!

Boy am I an easy girl to please – forget the chocolates and sweets all you have to do is buy me some sprouts and ill be one happy camper! Inspired by these gorgeous tasty crunchies I wanted to try my hand at making something a little fancier  than my usual so I give you – Savory Carrot Cakes with Scallions & Alfalfa Sprouts. Hope you like them!
Savory Carrot Cakes with Scallions and Alfalfa Sprouts
 
 
carrot cakes with scallions & alfalfa sprouts
mini carrot cakes with scallions & alfalfa sprouts

 

Carrot cake base

3 cups of pulp from carrots, cucumber, apple

1/2 cup of scallions – finely chopped

1/2 cup of white onions – chopped

1 jalapeno pepper – diced

1/2 red bell pepper – finely chopped

1 tomato – chopped

1 teaspoon water

organic curry powder (to taste)

cilantro – 2 palmfuls dry

rosemary – 1 palmful

Garnish

Alfalfa sprouts

Cucumber

Assembly

In a bowl place your carrot/cucumber/apple pulp along with your scallions, white onion, jalapeno, red pepper and tomatoes. Mix well. Add 1 teaspoon of water, curry powder, cilantro, rosemary and mix again.

Adding the water to the pulp gives it a nice consistency that allows you to mold it – if you find that your cakes are too dry try adding a little bit more water.

To mold into cakes spoon the mixture into a little cups or molds. I used my teeny ramekins – and press gently with the back of a spoon until the cup/mold is filled. Placing a serving plate over top of the ramekin hold down and quickly flipping it over. Give the top of the ramekin a quick tap and carefully remove.

Add your desired garnish and enjoy!

Ive got more food pictures for you : )
scrappers 001

my tasty salad toppings!

Yes I am still on my salad kick – I can’t seem to eat enough leafy greens. At the grocery store in addition to all of the usual stuff we also picked up some cauliflower. Now I don’t believe that I have ever bought raw cauliflower before and I love it. Its crumbly and crunchy and has a sweet/neutral flavor that I can tell can be used well in any dish.
looks good no ; )

oh how i love sweet corn!

this was so good!

this was so good!

 Go and and be sure to enjoy the rest of your day – thanks for reading!

Michal

Leave a Reply

