Sprouts oh my!

TGIF! Afternoon guys : )
I am just sitting munching on the sweetest most delicious grapes ever – enjoying the Ohio sunshine. Everything today seems especially fresh and calm because we got some serious rain last night. I have got a bunch of food pictures to show you all so lets get started!
my sprout salad

my sprout salad

sprout salad in a collard green wrap

sprout salad in a collard green wrap

 

Above you see pictures from a dinner I had earlier this week. It was super yummy – don’t let the weird color of the collard green leaf throw you off it was just that one! Haha! Some roma tomatoes, a drizzle of EVOO and a sprinkle or two of italian herbs gave me that perfect Italian taste. You might have noticed that I have been eating a lot of mung bean sprouts lately. Well that my friends is because I was able to pick some up from Giant Eagle last week. One thing that is really bumming me out is that Giant Eagle has not carried alfalfa sprouts in a while which happen to be my favorite. A quick google search gave me this startling information…

“The FDA and the CDC today recommended that consumers not eat raw alfalfa sprouts, including sprout blends containing alfalfa sprouts, until further notice because the product has been linked to Salmonella. Other types of sprouts have not been implicated at this time. The investigation indicates that the problem may be linked to contamination of seeds for alfalfa sprouts.”

Holy moly! Now this article I found was from late April, so I don’t know if it is still relevant or if my Giant Eagle is just not carrying them anymore. Just thought that I would give you guys a heads up. But I was shocked to hear about this.

mmm look at this tall mountain of tasty!

mmm look at this tall mountain of tasty!

I still cannot believe that I was able to cram so much fruit in one bowl. In there I have one huge jonagold apple, two bananas, grapes, and a nectarine. It was a perfect refreshing mid morning snack.

The best salad ever!

The best salad ever!

So I have no idea what it was that made this huge salad that I had for dinner last night so tasty. Whether it was me being tired from work, the soothing rain, my hungry belly or it was just that this salad was really really good! I am not complaining!

oh baby...

oh baby...

This salad only took minutes to make and I couldn’t stop munching as I was chopping. I am actually surprised that I managed to get some into the bowl!

so creamy and dreamy...

so creamy and dreamy...

An avocado and a fresh lemon was all I needed to make a tasty dressing. I loved how all the flavors marinated together and soaked up each others deliciousness. Mmmmmmm : )

My plans for today include driving with my instructor from 2:30 to 4:30 and then I go right to work after that until 8pm. Ill admit I am a little anxious about driving today because I am going to be doing the cones for the first time and I don’t have a lot of experience with maneuverability. Wish me luck – ill need it!

Michal : )

2 thoughts on “Sprouts oh my!

  1. Well Michal, I thought I would come and check out your blog… and I must say, this is doing nothing good for my water fast!

    Great food, keep it coming!

    Diana.

    • Hi Diana, thanks for the nice words about my blog. Wow congratulations on being able to do a water fast – i admire your strength! : )

      Michal

Leave a Reply

